Time To Learn

18 Sep
Sesame magazine

Sesame magazine (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

We’ve had a visitor here since Monday so I haven’t been able to blog as much as I had hoped, but I have sneaked away to tell you about this:

The Open University has teamed up with universities around the globe to offer free online short courses.  I have signed up for three, with staggered start dates; the first begins in November.  

Join me!  It’s all online so you don’t have to live in the UK.  

Here’s the link: FutureLearn.

 

27 Responses to “Time To Learn”

  1. laurieanichols September 18, 2013 at 19:50 #

    That is so exciting! I believe M.I.T has offered free online courses as well, it affords such wonderful opportunities. 🙂

    Like

  2. restlessjo September 18, 2013 at 19:58 #

    Wow! This is a find, Tilly. I’ll have to look. What have you signed up for? 🙂

    Like

  3. Terry September 18, 2013 at 20:12 #

    thanks for the information!!!

    Like

  4. colonialist September 18, 2013 at 20:50 #

    I see they have one on the Higgs Boson – that’s a sort of American buffalo, isn’t it?
    But they don’t seem to offer a doctorate at the end.

    Like

  5. slpmartin September 18, 2013 at 21:13 #

    Love the idea…may just sign up for something thanks for the info.

    Like

  6. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com September 18, 2013 at 21:33 #

    Me for Ecosystems – what are you doing? I might do climate change next.

    Like

  7. barb19 September 18, 2013 at 22:18 #

    Fantastic find Tilly! What have you signed up for?

    Like

  8. Viciously Sweet September 18, 2013 at 23:16 #

    This is great. I’m signing up for a course or two!

    Like

  9. David J. Bauman September 19, 2013 at 03:27 #

    Looks like some good ones. I like the linguistics course idea. What are you taking?

    Like

  10. timethief September 19, 2013 at 03:37 #

    Thanks so much for sharing the link. There are two courses that interest me.
    The mind is flat: the shocking shallowness of human psychology
    The secret power of brands

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife September 20, 2013 at 12:34 #

      I looked at your second choice but I have no interest in brands (as a result of no money to spend on them 🙂 )

      Like

  11. vastlycurious.com September 19, 2013 at 03:51 #

    I think it’s great that you did this!

    Like

  12. jmgoyder September 19, 2013 at 04:31 #

    What are you doing, Tilly? I want to be in your class!

    Like

  13. Three Well Beings September 19, 2013 at 04:51 #

    I will check them out! I have really enjoyed some of the courses offered through iTunes University. There isn’t quite the same level of commitment, but the opportunity to audit some university courses in topics I might enjoy exploring has been really satisfying. Hope you enjoy yours! 🙂

    Like

  14. bluebee September 19, 2013 at 05:19 #

    What will you be studying, Tilly?

    Like

  15. bevchen September 19, 2013 at 08:45 #

    Ooh, some interesting ones there! I think I’ll sign up for Introduction to Ecosystems and Sustainability, Society and You. Hopefully I’ll actually keep up with them despite there being no money wasted if I don’t…

    Like

  16. sufilight September 19, 2013 at 09:59 #

    Thanks for the information! I am going to check it out.

    Like

  17. Grannymar September 19, 2013 at 10:59 #

    They look good, I wonder if my grey cells are working these days?

    Like

  18. Janet Williams September 20, 2013 at 21:14 #

    One of the courses is Discover dentistry by The University of Sheffield on FutureLearn.

    I bet you signed up already!?

    Like

  19. benzeknees September 20, 2013 at 23:20 #

    Thanks for the link Tilly, I signed up for Climate Change. Hopefully will be helpful for the book I want to write. Which courses did you sign up for?

    Like

  20. Perfecting Motherhood September 25, 2013 at 20:46 #

    Thanks for the tip!

    Like

All comments are welcome, though compliments may result in you having your Malteser privileges revoked

Nicola Hulme Author

Exploring creative writing and learning every day

Worldly Winds

It's not easy being me!

Vivinfrance's Blog

mainly poetry, also quilts, pictures, life-writing and the occasional short story.

Unpicked:Restitched

Where is the heart of Stockport?

Grains of Sand

notices and reflections in ministry

The Cvillean

The adventures of little read writing Hood

