Archive | 20:05

Madam & Christmas Eve

24 Dec

 

How We Do Christmas Oop North

24 Dec

 

 

Beginning t’look a lot like Christmas

The apple, rhubarb and meat pies are baked and sitting snug in the fridge and freezer; the turkey is in the oven; the gammon will follow; fairy cakes still to be made but sausage rolls are done; veg, roasties, mash and Yorkshire puds will be cooked fresh tomorrow, along with the gravy; roasties will be cooked in turkey and gammon fat; gravy will be made from the stock. 

I finally realised: I can cook

The cupboards are bursting with goodies; the tree is listing slightly under the number of presents waiting to be unwrapped tomorrow morning; all gifts not for us have been sent out; first-born son and lovely nephew will be here by eight, at the latest; Dr Who set to record, just in case.  Ironing is up-to-date; washing washed and drying, ready to be put away; the house is clean.

One or two things to do

  • Change the beds – we must get into freshly made beds on Christmas Eve; I don’t know why.  It’s the law. 
  • Visit Dad at the cemetery.  He hates being left out.
  • Go to the Christingle at four. 
  • Open a bottle of wine.
  • Relax!

*

If you don’t celebrate this particular festival, I wish you a happy and relaxing holiday period; but to those who do,

Wishing you all a Merry Christmas!

Today’s Six Word Saturday was brought to you by the number ’24’ and the letter ‘wine’.

Joke 275

24 Dec

The other day I sent my girlfriend a huge pile of snow.  I rang her up and asked, ‘Did you get my drift?’