Archive | 13:35

C Is For ‘Choice’

2 Mar

63 - Goa Dr Jack De Souza Statue, Dona Paula F...

I love choices, so long as they are unimportant.  Ask me to choose a new house, new furniture or the winner of the X-Factor and I pick the first one I see, to avoid meltdown.  Better yet, I get the Hub to choose: if it all goes wrong, it’s his fault.  What you call a win-win situation.

But ask me to participate in a survey or poll, and I’m your man.  I never met a doorstep pollster I didn’t invite into my home.  I helped redefine the Open University’s website during the 2000s, by my simple yeas or nays to their proffered options.  I love knowing that I’m one of the eight out of ten owners who said their cats preferred it.

Imagine my ecstasy, then, when I discovered WordPress had a poll feature.  I brought you polls on what I should call my first-born; which Friend you are; what theme I should use; what I should post; when I should post; if should I post polls at all…you said ‘no’ to that last one, so I stopped canvassing your opinion and sulked a bit.

Today, because it’s spring, because I have nothing to write about, and because I really do value your opinion, I bring you a new poll.  Ignore it if you want, but remember: you provided the answers in the first place; and if you want to be one of the eight out of ten bloggers who said their readers preferred it, you need to say so.

Joke 344

2 Mar

A football coach walked into the changing room before a game.  He looked over to his new signing and said, “I’m not supposed to let you play since you failed arithmetic, but we need you to be in the team. So, what I have to do is ask you a math question, and if you get it right then you will be allowed to play.”

The player agreed, so coach looked into his eyes intently and asked, “Okay, now concentrate hard and tell me the answer to this. What is two plus two?”

The player thought for a moment and then answered, “Four?”

“Did you say ‘Four’?” the coach exclaimed, excited that he had got it correct.

Suddenly all the other players on the team began shouting, “Come on coach, give him another chance!”