Archive | 11:53

101/1001 (53)

30 Mar

In all the excitement of Sunday’s anniversary and my first – and last – You Tube appearance, I forgot to update you on what I’ve been doing with the 101/1001 challenge.  Not much, as it happens, so this will be a short post.

Read 101 new books (26/101)

In spite of my new Kindle, which has become my symbiont à la Trill tradition (non-Trekkies should look away now) – or maybe it’s the other way around, because I can’t live without it, but it can survive without me, though not electricity – this is becoming a triangle in which it appears I am a necessary evil in order for the Kindle to exist – in spite of all that, I have read just three new books in three months.  I have read a ton of old favourites, of course, and some rather bad Agatha Christies, but I need to open myself up to the possibility of enjoying new books by people I’ve never heard of.

Any suggestions?  Preference will be given to books that are free to download.

Cover of "Trekkies"

Cover of Trekkies

Tell a joke every day for the next 1001 days (371/1001)

I’m bang on target with that one.

I’m still looking for the perfect joke for Day 1001, however.  Any suggestions?  Preference will be given to those that make me laugh.

Write 1001 new poems (325/1001)

I’m way behind on this one.  Blame Twilight.

Save £1 for each completed task.

I’m way behind on this one.  Blame the recession.

Walk the dogs for 1001 hours (269.55/1001)

Way behind on this one, too.  Blame the weather.

I do walk them every day, but only until the frostbite starts.

Get the first series of Glee on dvd.

Behind on this.  Blame my anti-Glee family.

*

Of the 68 tasks I have set myself so far, I have completed seventeen.

The challenge may be fun but it appears I’m not rising to it.  Sarsm‘s snail is starting to look like an insult, not a celebration:

Joke 372

30 Mar
Africa

Africa (Photo credit: cliff1066™)

Son: Is it true, Dad, that in some parts of Africa a man doesn’t know his wife until he marries her?

Dad: That happens in every country, son.

*

A man placed an ad in the classifieds: Wife wanted.

The next day he received a hundred letters. They all said the same thing: You can have mine.