Joke 423

20 May

This is possibly a true story, but I’m using it because it reads like a joke.  I got it from Magsx2’s Blog, via Barb at Passionate About Pets.

Bucket-headed dog

Bucket-headed dog (Photo credit: Paul Kidd)

An older, tired looking dog wandered into my yard. I could tell from his collar and well fed belly that he had a home and was well taken care of. He calmly came over to me, I gave him a few pats on his head; he then followed me into my house, slowly walked down the hall, and curled up in the corner and fell asleep.

 An hour later, he went to the door, and I let him out.

The next day he was back, greeted me in my yard, walked inside and resumed his spot in the hall and again slept for about an hour. This continued off and on for several weeks.

Curious, I pinned a note to his collar: “I would like to find out who the owner of this wonderful sweet dog is and ask if you are aware that almost every afternoon your dog comes to my house for a nap.”

The next day he arrived for his nap, with a different note pinned to his collar: “He lives in a home with six children, two under the age of three. He’s trying to catch up on his sleep. Can I come with him tomorrow?”

13 Responses to “Joke 423”

  1. siggiofmaine May 20, 2012 at 04:46 #

    Love it ! Thanks !
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    Like

  2. magsx2 May 20, 2012 at 05:01 #

    Hi,
    It’s a great story, glad you liked it. 🙂

    Like

  3. misswhiplash May 20, 2012 at 08:40 #

    That is a real good ‘un and what a very sensible dog

    Like

  4. Roly May 20, 2012 at 09:44 #

    LOL Love it 🙂

    Like

  5. vivinfrance May 20, 2012 at 09:48 #

    This is the nicest joke you’ve ever posted. I do hope the householder said yes: the start of a beautiful friendship.

    Like

  6. kiwidutch May 20, 2012 at 09:50 #

    Awww… so true to real life too … love it!

    Like

  7. bucketofdreams May 20, 2012 at 10:05 #

    Lol, I have read this somewhere recently. 😀

    Like

  8. viveka May 20, 2012 at 18:07 #

    Big smile … over here, I would have done the same … if I had 6 kids to live with – escape to a great neighbor.

    Like

  9. robincoyle May 20, 2012 at 19:14 #

    Can I come along too?

    Like

  10. Tilly Bud May 21, 2012 at 11:59 #

    You old softies 🙂

    Like

  11. grannymar May 21, 2012 at 13:57 #

    It is no joke living in a home with six children, two under the age of three. I was one of six and it was hard to fine a quiet spot. If I had known that dog, I’d have gone too.

    Like

  12. Perfecting Motherhood May 24, 2012 at 05:32 #

    Oh, I see how this could be a real story. I wish I could take a nap once in a while but my kids don’t take naps anymore, even my 4-year old. 😦

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.