Archive | 18:35

Happy Birthday Patti!

6 Oct

 

pat-a-cake pat-a-cake camping gal
take me a-trekking as fast as you can

climb up a mountain, live in a tent
write all about where you were and you went

chuck in a baby gap 15 years long
a teenage girl runner, tall-limbed and strong

throw in a pic of a mad man’s part-y
then follow instructions: sit down and read me

Patti writes a lovely, gentle blog so I have written her a lovely, gentle poem to match.
:
What she actually envisioned this post would be was something with small circles of ground meat involved, therefore, I have made a point of not calling her a hamburger.  
:
Today.
:
Have a wonderful day, Patti!
*
*
*
If you would like a nonsense poem on your birthday, leave the date in the comments.
*
*

 

Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy

6 Oct

 

[Writing a renga with Viv]

Six Word Saturday

(also includes Friday)

in which Tilly

thinks she’s died and gone heavenwards

[Poetry reading at Bramhall Hall]

Yesterday afternoon I was at a poetry reading by Suzanne Batty, in Stockport Central Library, which was followed by a workshop.

This morning I am at a different poetry workshop.

What a great week I’m having!

Details to follow.

I am never happier than when I’m writing or doing writing-related activities.

[Promoting my writing group]

This week’s response to the photo challenge is supposed to include a new gallery feature that WordPress have introduced – they are as happy with that as I am with my workshops – but I only have 11% space left and all of these pictures have been on my blog before, so I have copied and pasted these photos instead of uploading.

To compensate, and to keep to the spirit of the exercise – which I am happy to do – here is a photo of me, happy (ecstatic, actually) in a gallery:

[Standing with a piece of art work inspired by a poem of mine]

For more Six Word Saturdays, go here.

 

Joke 562

6 Oct

 

It is possible I have told this joke once:

A man walks into a bar carrying jumper cables.

The bartender says, “Hey! Don’t you try to start anything in here.”

Source: http://www.jokebuddha.com/Jumper#ixzz28FzMIiSb

OK Bartender

OK Bartender (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So here’s another, which I might also have told; I’m starting to lose track:

A man walks into a bar and has a couple of beers. Once he is done the bartender tells him he owes $9.00. “But I paid, don’t you remember?” says the customer.

“Okay,” says the bartender, “if you said you paid, you did.”

The man goes outside and tells the first person he sees that the bartender can’t keep track of whether his customers have paid.

The man he told rushes into the bar, orders a beer, and pulls the same stunt. The bartender replies, “If you say you paid, I’ll take your word for it.”

Soon the customer goes into the street, sees an old friend, and tells him how to get free drinks.  That man hurries into the bar and begins to drink highballs when, suddenly, the bartender leans over and says, “You know, a funny thing happened in here tonight.  Two men were drinking beer, neither paid and both claimed that they did.  The next guy who tries that is going to get punched right in the nose.”

“Don’t bother me with your troubles,” the final patron responds.  “Just give me my change and I’ll be on my way.”

Source: http://www.jokes4us.com/