101/1001 (23)

4 Sep

These updates are getting later and later.  I blame the Hub.

When people ask me, ‘Why do you always blame the Hub?’ I think of Sir Edmund Hillary’s famous quote about climbing Everest: ‘Because he’s there.’  What’s the point of marriage, if not to have a spouse to blame?  To sum up:

  • I’m late; I cry
  • Why?
  • Hub/Fall guy
  • On standby
  • Thereby
  • Not my fault I’m late
  • Great!

So, what have I been doing?  Not a lot, as it happens: Tory Boy coming home for a while meant that this week Spud and I had to excavate his room of all our junk which put me in a bad mood with the Hub because it’s really his junk and I was happy when I couldn’t see it but now it’s all over the house again and you know how I feel about a cluttered house….

I did add a new task:

Find another 64 challenges for the list.  (28/64)

Have the courage to play the drums in church.

There are several bongo drums up front in church and the children are invited to play along to the singing.  I thought about grabbing a little kid off the street because parents help the younger ones to bong, but kidnap might not be considered an act of good Christian witness, so I decided against it.  I am dying to get my hands on those drums, though.  This morning, the children were all in Sunday Club and the vicar invited the adults to have a go, but I bottled it.  Like every other adult there, as it happens.

As I cowered behind my notice sheet, I decided right then to add this task to my list, because now I have to do it when the opportunity arises again.

Submit thirty poems to competitions or publishers (11/30)

I sent off three poems this week.  I was going to up the number from (8) to (9), because they all went to the same competition, but I checked the wording of the task and it reads Submit thirty poems, not, Submit to thirty competitions.  I can always increase the number at a later date.  The good thing about setting your own tasks in this challenge is that you can cheat as much as you like.

Blog 1111 times (444/1111)

I only tell you this because I like the numbers.

*

We now have eighteen members in the 101ers club, and my list to the right is sadly out of date.  I will try to update it in the week but for now, here are some links.  Mine is only included because I don’t know how else to do ‘Related Articles’.  I have a lot to learn about blogging.

15 Responses to “101/1001 (23)”

  1. granny1947 September 4, 2011 at 17:07 #

    You sure put yourself under a lot of pressure. 🙂

    Like

  2. viv blake September 4, 2011 at 17:11 #

    Now I know why you have a tension headache.

    Like

  3. SchmidleysScribbling September 4, 2011 at 17:56 #

    Tilly, I looked at the 101/1001, but I can’t think of 101 things to do. I am old and have done most of what I set out to do, besides, I might die before I reach 1001 days. Still working on it but not going to commit yet. Dianne

    Like

    • Tilly Bud September 5, 2011 at 09:18 #

      Part of the fun is finding things to add to the list; that’s also one of my challenges. Why not do a 35/365? You can still be included in our not at all exclusive group.

      You don’t strike me as a person who shies away from a challenge 🙂

      Like

  4. SidevieW September 4, 2011 at 18:27 #

    pressure, pressure!

    Like

  5. nrhatch September 4, 2011 at 18:31 #

    Bongo Bongo Bongo . . .

    Like

  6. thegirlbehind September 4, 2011 at 19:40 #

    I keep thinking that I should do the 1001 thing. I’ve just made a note and have five things so far, so have a bit of a way to go…

    Love the idea of you playing the bongos in Church; it’s all about using our individual and special gifts, after all. However good or bad you are at drumming, you’ll be using the gift of bravery!

    Like

  7. belleofthecarnival September 4, 2011 at 22:20 #

    Lists scare me! It`s means I have to follow thru…But I am keeping that Sir Edmund quote under my hat!

    Like

  8. Pseu September 5, 2011 at 01:42 #

    Are you submitting only to free competitions etc? Have you looked at this list?
    http://www.prizemagic.co.uk/html/writing_comps.htm

    Like

    • Tilly Bud September 5, 2011 at 09:21 #

      Yes, free comps only. Checking the list out now. Thanks.

      And welcome back! I’ve missed you.

      Like

  9. sarsm September 5, 2011 at 08:05 #

    It’s all in the wording. 😉

    I love the bongo challenge!! And your blogging challenge is going really well. Somehow I knew it would.

    Like

    • Tilly Bud September 5, 2011 at 09:22 #

      I love it! But I forgot to mention the comments in this week’s post. My head’s just not in the game at the moment.

      Like

  10. SammyDee September 5, 2011 at 12:00 #

    I love the idea of your bongo challenge. I think I’d have chickened out too the first time they asked. Going to church is going to be nerve wracking for you in future.

    I meant to brainstorm some challenges for you – I’ve been rubbish so far haven’t I? Ok, how about another reading challenge? I’m reading 10 books from 10 different countries. You could do something similar – either borrow them from the library or I could send you some of mine when I’ve finished with them.

    Have you considered Bookcrossing? Writing secret messages in books or other items? How about clearing out a room and donating stuff to charity? I always donate my unwanted items to Barnardos. I like that they send you an update letting you know how much they raised from your goods. It has been years since I sent any postcards – How about a challenge to send 20 postcards to friends and family?

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.