Archive | 15:28

101/1001 (23)

4 Sep

These updates are getting later and later.  I blame the Hub.

When people ask me, ‘Why do you always blame the Hub?’ I think of Sir Edmund Hillary’s famous quote about climbing Everest: ‘Because he’s there.’  What’s the point of marriage, if not to have a spouse to blame?  To sum up:

  • I’m late; I cry
  • Why?
  • Hub/Fall guy
  • On standby
  • Thereby
  • Not my fault I’m late
  • Great!

So, what have I been doing?  Not a lot, as it happens: Tory Boy coming home for a while meant that this week Spud and I had to excavate his room of all our junk which put me in a bad mood with the Hub because it’s really his junk and I was happy when I couldn’t see it but now it’s all over the house again and you know how I feel about a cluttered house….

I did add a new task:

Find another 64 challenges for the list.  (28/64)

Have the courage to play the drums in church.

There are several bongo drums up front in church and the children are invited to play along to the singing.  I thought about grabbing a little kid off the street because parents help the younger ones to bong, but kidnap might not be considered an act of good Christian witness, so I decided against it.  I am dying to get my hands on those drums, though.  This morning, the children were all in Sunday Club and the vicar invited the adults to have a go, but I bottled it.  Like every other adult there, as it happens.

As I cowered behind my notice sheet, I decided right then to add this task to my list, because now I have to do it when the opportunity arises again.

Submit thirty poems to competitions or publishers (11/30)

I sent off three poems this week.  I was going to up the number from (8) to (9), because they all went to the same competition, but I checked the wording of the task and it reads Submit thirty poems, not, Submit to thirty competitions.  I can always increase the number at a later date.  The good thing about setting your own tasks in this challenge is that you can cheat as much as you like.

Blog 1111 times (444/1111)

I only tell you this because I like the numbers.

*

We now have eighteen members in the 101ers club, and my list to the right is sadly out of date.  I will try to update it in the week but for now, here are some links.  Mine is only included because I don’t know how else to do ‘Related Articles’.  I have a lot to learn about blogging.

To Add To My Woes…

4 Sep
Eponychium is the anatomical term for the huma...

Image via Wikipedia

I have my second-ever cold sore on my philtrum, where it meets my top lip.  It looks like a red moustache of the kind beloved by Hitler.

I also have what I thought was a pimple on my right nostril, but it is firm to the touch, extremely tender, and has no head, rather like me in a crisis.

I’m covered in cuts and sores, including my left middle finger, where a nail broke off down to the skin, and pulled off half of the cuticle.

I realised I didn’t have a migraine after all, but a tension headache.  That I could still function was a bit of a giveaway.

Now, I’m not saying it has anything to do with Tory Boy coming home, but let’s look at the facts:

  • Tory Boy comes home
  • I get headache, cold sore, ugly red nose, cuts, broken fingernail

Make of that what you will.

*

Joke 164

4 Sep

He kept an alarm clock in the back window of his car.  

He was always ahead of his time.