Let The Games Begin!

27 Jul

To celebrate the London 2012 Olympics Opening Ceremony, this post was scheduled to be published at GMT (or maybe GMT+1; I am always confused by British Summer Time; probably because it’s always raining and we need the heating on in July) 21:00.

I say ‘was’, because I am at this precise moment plonked in front of my telly with a glass of wine, a bag of peanuts and a patriotic heart, watching Danny Boyle display all that is best about Britain.

2012!  What a great year we’re having!

Go Team GB!

Exclamation mark overload!

Do me a favour: if you were watching the ceremony at the same time, say so in the comments, mentioning your beverage and snack of choice. 

 

45 Responses to “Let The Games Begin!”

  1. robincoyle July 27, 2012 at 21:18 #

    This is so weird. Right this minute I thought of you and wondered how the opening ceremony looks. Thank poof! You arrived in my inbox. Can’t wait to watch California time. Go Team USA!

    Like

  2. McGuffyAnn July 27, 2012 at 21:31 #

    You are wonderful. This is a great idea! For me, it is Vitamin Water & fruit…and the good old USA!

    Like

  3. Pseu July 27, 2012 at 21:59 #

    Your page has gone strange…

    Like

  4. bluebee July 27, 2012 at 23:20 #

    The cartoon and some of your words are shown in the WP Reader so I get the gist of the post – enjoy. It looks marvellous from the photos and reports in the news here this morning.

    Like

  5. vivinfrance July 28, 2012 at 00:23 #

    I am watching. HM QEII is about to declare the games open. That was quick! Jock went to bed before team GB came in. I came to bed while the Arctic Monkeys were on. I am still watching. The dregs of last night’s bottle of a glorious Biuzet, and a handful of grapes shared between us. Will that do?

    Like

  6. SammyDee July 28, 2012 at 00:56 #

    I watched the whole thing. 🙂 Loved James Bond with the Queen and loved Rowan Atkinson. Go Mr Bean!

    Drank far too much White Grenashe. 😉

    Like

  7. debbieinlondon July 28, 2012 at 01:54 #

    Sandwiches, crisps nuts, coke. All a bit of a treat as we are kind of on a diet 🙂

    In answer to SammyDee, I loved the whole thing, except Hey Jude…..nothing against Paul McCartney, I just think there are many other songs that would have been more apt for the finale of the Olympic opening ceremony than the one he wrote for Julian Lennon when John and Cynthia were getting divorced. Strange choice, IMO.

    Favourite bit – the Queen! I was gobsmacked when she turned around from her desk and it was actually her! What a jolly good sport 🙂

    Like

  8. boomiebol July 28, 2012 at 02:41 #

    Danny Boyle has done an amazing job no doubt…loved the Bond and Queen bit and of course Mr Bean lol…munching on kettlecorn popscorn, cashew nuts and wine

    Like

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife July 28, 2012 at 15:21 #

      You understand that I now have to use your typo in my post, if it is a typo? ‘Popscorn’ – wonderful!

      Like

      • boomiebol July 28, 2012 at 17:31 #

        Oh my all the Olympic excitement…and not the wine drinking got me typing all wrong lol

        Like

  9. siggiofmaine July 28, 2012 at 05:20 #

    Follow up to previous blog…would love to say I had malted milk balls…American Malteser’s….but had red white and blue star shaped marshmallows to eat while watching Sir Paul sing “Hey, Jude.” My drink of choice is water with a wedge of lemon…but only had lime seltzer in the house to drink.
    Salude ! At toast to all countries participating in the Olympics.
    Now, off t bed…was doing my goodnights to my family on facebook, when I noticed this post…When I’m not working…only tomorrow am, I will be in front of the tv, laptop on my lap, keeping an eye on the Olympic coverage…

    Now, it’s off to bed before I fully wake up☺.
    Peace and love,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine, USA

    Like

  10. sanstorm July 28, 2012 at 08:03 #

    Hula hoops.
    Very proud of the Queen.
    😀

    Like

  11. Pseu July 28, 2012 at 08:41 #

    Morning – I couldn’t read the post last night, as it came up as a blank white.
    Anyhoo, we had supper in front of the TV: stuffed chicken breasts, mashed potatoes and peas on a tray, with a glass of Chardonnay. Followed up with a slice of Scout’s chocolate birthday cake.
    (Of course Cycloman’s not with us as he’s down in the thick of it, starting his volunteering in the basket arena this morning 🙂 )

    Like

  12. mairedubhtx July 28, 2012 at 12:47 #

    I was drinking iced tea with ginseng and honey and eating pretzels.

    Like

  13. viveka July 28, 2012 at 12:48 #

    Tilly, I wish London all the best with the Olympic Games … sure that it will give us a show worth it’s money during the coming weeks. Sweden I hope will come home with a couple of medals.

    Like

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife July 28, 2012 at 15:41 #

      Thanks, Viveka! If you don’t win any medals, take comfort in the fact that the Hub and Spud awarded Sweden the Silver in the Most Pretty Girls In One Team category (Finland got the Gold).

      Like

      • viveka July 28, 2012 at 15:43 #

        That’s enough for me … and who was the girl ??? To be honest I don’t have clue who Sweden has sent over there. Say thanks to the boys.

        Like

  14. eof737 July 29, 2012 at 15:39 #

    The Bond stunt with the queen was awesome! 😉

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hula Hoops. Very Proud Of The Queen. « The Laughing Housewife - July 29, 2012

    […] title was left as a comment on the post in which I invited you to tell me what you were eating, drinking and doing during the Olympics Opening Ceremony. You […]

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.