Archive | 18:14

Sorry To Make It Four Posts Today But You’ll Understand Why When You Read It

7 Apr

An out of control train is about to run over a pile of happy puppies. You are standing at the control switch and can pull the level to direct the train onto a different track, saving their lives. But that other track has a smaller pile of equally happy puppies on it.
What do you do and why?

Throw the sick WordPress prompter who thought of this under the train wheels to derail it.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Light

7 Apr

The Hub came home with this lamp:

I have to divorce him.

I Like Being In This Much Debt

7 Apr
Stockport Bus Station and Stockport Viaduct at...

Image via Wikipedia

Describe a debt you have yet to repay.

This one is easy. 

I am blessed with wonderful friends.  Some I have met, some I haven’t.  Most of them haven’t met each other.  The only reason I would like to win the lottery is so that I could throw a huge party one Friday night; fly, bus, or taxi all of my friends in to Stockport; and put us all up in a hotel.  I would do it so that I could say, ‘Thank you for being kind to me.  You don’t know how much it has meant to me, especially on blue days.’

I would buy each friend a unique gift and we would party ’til dawn; breakfast together; maybe go to the races, where everyone would be given a goody bag*, a fabulous lunch, and something to bet with; in the evening we would go to the theatre or a show.  On Sunday morning we would have a champagne breakfast where I would get very tipsy on Buck’s Fizz and I would personally see each of you to your limo/taxi/bus/old bicycle (don’t be the last to leave – I’ve run out of money).

My point is this: there are some debts that can never be repaid; but they ought to be acknowledged: I probably won’t remember every kindness you have done me, but I will always remember that you are kind.

*Don’t expect a box of Maltesers; we may be friends but we’re not that close.

**

**I’m just looking at the photo of Stockport at the top of this post and I can’t help wondering if anyone will turn up to this fantastic do I’ve planned.

Joke 14

7 Apr

Descartes sits down for a meal at a Parisian restaurant.  He orders a hamburger.

The waiter asks, “Would you like fries with that?”

Descartes says, “I think not,” and vanishes.

descartes blogger