Archive | 16:39

The Value Of Not Blogging

28 Oct
A deep vein thrombosis of the right leg. Note ...

Image via Wikipedia

 

*

You may not have noticed, but I haven’t blogged today.  In which case, why didn’t you notice?

Hurt pride aside, it has done my body some good.  We bought a nearly new computer chair at auction to replace the old one, which gave me backache.  First time we used it and adjusted it for comfort, it dropped to knee height and stayed there, so we type in a crouched position until finances permit us to buy a chair that works.

It’s rather like sitting in economy, with elbows and knees up round your ears.  As I spend most mornings at the computer, I have developed the achingest legs outside of a Ryanair flight and I suspect I am at serious risk of developing deep vein thrombosis.  So I gave myself the day off and spent most of it stretched on the couch, to ease my legs, reading a good book, for no reason at all.

I took ninety minutes out to walk the dogs and now I am going to make dinner, if shoving frozen pizza in the oven counts as making dinner; and then I will stretch on the couch to finish my book, before retiring to bed to stretch my legs some more.

I could really get used to not blogging.

*

Joke 218

28 Oct

Thanks to Pseu for this one.

A psychiatrist conducted a group therapy session with four mothers. “You all have obsessions.”

To the first mother, he said, “You are obsessed with eating and even named your daughter Candy.”

He turned to the second Mom. “Your obsession is with money; that’s why you named your child Penny.”

He turned to the third Mom. “Your obsession is alcohol and you named your child Brandy.”

At this point, the fourth mother got up, took her little boy by the hand and whispered, “Come on, Dick, we’re leaving.”