Archive | 14:18

K Is For ‘Kidology’

27 Jun

Leather Vancouver

Leather Vancouver (Photo credit: dejahthoris)

The latest in my A to Z of The Laughing Housewife sees a celebration: on June 30th it will be my third blogaversary!  The third anniversary has ancient (leather) and modern (glass/crystal) symbols; to make it easy for everyone, if you send me a set of glasses in leather holders, like those plastic cups at sports games that keep drinks hot or cold*, I’ll be happy.

*Flasks.

Being a fervent monarchist (yes, I would curtsey to the Queen) and because it’s a jubilee year, I decided to celebrate my blogaversary (leather slippers à la Cinderella will do) by copying QEII: four days off and a trip down memory lane.  There will be no original posts from tomorrow, for four days; just re-posts of my four favourite posts over the last three years*.

*The four posts I can remember writing.

Happy Blogaversary to me!
I get four days blog-free!
I’ll cheat all my readers
And they’ll all leave me…oh…

*

A quiz for you: guess which part of this post is a bluff or deception.

*

This is for you, Big Al:

kidology [kɪˈdɒlədʒɪ]

n

Brit informal the art or practice of bluffing or deception

[from kid2 + ology]

Collins English Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged © HarperCollins Publishers 1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2003

*

I’ll settle for a leather glasses case, if you’re poor.

*

27 Jun

You should check this guy out.

Joke 461

27 Jun

 

English: from the Nuvola icon theme for KDE 3....

English: from the Nuvola icon theme for KDE 3.x by David Vignoni (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

From ajokeaday.com

One day, a Mechanical Engineer, Electrical Engineer, Chemical Engineer and Computer Engineer were driving down the street in the same car. All of a sudden, the car broke down.

The Mechanical Engineer said, “I think a rod broke.”

The Chemical Engineer said, “The way it sputtered at the end, I don’t think it’s getting gas.”

The Electrical Engineer said, “I think there was a spark and something is wrong with the electrical system.”

They turned to the Computer Engineer to ask, “What do you think?”

The Computer Engineer said, “I think we should all get out and get back in.”