There’s No Pleasing Some Mothers

9 Aug

 

I cried yesterday.  Like a baby – tears and snot and everything.

I haven’t cried for four years, then yesterday – blub city.

My baby left home.  For good.  For real.  For ever.  

I hope – I don’t want to be one of those mothers stuck with a forty-year-old layabout who won’t get a job and expects me to cook and clean and iron for him. I’ve done my time; I kept him fed and watered and clothed and alive.  I’m not doing it again.

Four years ago, we took Tory Boy to university and as I said goodbye, I shocked us all – including me – by bursting into tears.  I cried half the way home.  At the traffic lights just outside the campus, I looked behind to see a row of cars with a bawling mother in each front passenger seat.  Guess I’m normal, after all.

I did my crying then for my baby leaving home, becoming a man, yadda-yadda-yadda.  I didn’t expect it to happen again.  All this week I’ve been chivvying Tory Boy along, to get his room packed up.  He took a small case yesterday and the rest will be sent on once he has a permanent home (it may be the YMCA for a couple of weeks until he gets settled).  Although he will always have a home with us etc., etc.,  if he needs it, I’m not keeping shrines to my children when they move out – I want storage space and office space and a spare bedroom.

I love my kids but I’m a pragmatist.  They know that, which is why Tory Boy – Tory Man – Assistant Producer Boy-Man-?? What?  What?  What should I call him? – which is why he knew I meant it when I said I would be permanently furious if I had to pack up his stuff for him.  I want the child out.  I want him to feel as if he’s moved out.  He’s a man now, with a job and a life and he doesn’t need a bolt hole any more.

Which is why I burst into tears and sobbed on his shoulder when I said my goodbye.

Mothers!  Can’t live with them; can’t please them by moving out.

 

64 Responses to “There’s No Pleasing Some Mothers”

  1. Philo Yan August 9, 2012 at 11:10 #

    I view my kids leaving home for further studies a good thing. My nest maybe empty now except for the occasional weekend squarters.

    I get to do what I want, when I want and how I want to. Life is very good…..I have written an article about Empty Nest Syndrome. Do have a read and let me know what you think.

    Philo

    Like

  2. sanstorm August 9, 2012 at 11:11 #

    Job done, Tilly. Congrats.
    Now, don’t go filling his room with miscellaneous junk…

    Like

  3. Philo Yan August 9, 2012 at 11:11 #

    I mean “squatters”. Apologies for the typo. 😉

    Like

  4. jmgoyder August 9, 2012 at 11:26 #

    Oh thanks a lot for making me cry too – you are so wonderful and he will be fine!

    Like

  5. Tinman August 9, 2012 at 11:37 #

    Poor Tilly, I know you’ll miss him dreadfully.

    Put a pool table in his room, a few games a day will help to ease the pain.

    Like

  6. sharechair August 9, 2012 at 11:49 #

    Oh, I empathize! I’ve done that twice. Both my “babies” flew the coop and are fine, responsible adults now with homes of their own. That’s a good thing, of course, and the goal of our parenting years. But …….. Time goes so fast.

    Like

  7. adinparadise August 9, 2012 at 11:58 #

    When my darling boy moved out, he was 25, and moved all the way to New York. I was so happy for him that he had landed a fantastic job, but I so missed ironing his business shirts. No, really! 😀

    Like

  8. viveka August 9, 2012 at 12:15 #

    This a know very little about – no kids … at least no tears and worries over them and no crying. Have I missed out on something, maybe … and I will never find out. Great post and farewell, at least for now. Now kids move back home when they are getting divorced.

    Like

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife August 12, 2012 at 15:45 #

      I think we all miss out on something, whatever our choices. That’s life. I don’t believe we can have it all; but I do believe we can be content with what we have.

      Like

      • viveka August 13, 2012 at 09:38 #

        Tilly, you’re so right … we can’t have it all. And there is moments when I read about other people’s closeness to their family and what they do together – I can feel a bit envy and sadness, because I never experience it as child neither – but I have never regret my choice not to marry and have a family of my own. It’s only weak moments. I love reading about other people every day with their families.

        Like

  9. mairedubhtx August 9, 2012 at 12:22 #

    You can still call him Tory Boy. He’s still your boy even if he’s on his own. Can you can still cry when you say good-bye and wish him well in his adventure living his own life. After all your mother. It’s allowed.

    Like

  10. sarsm August 9, 2012 at 12:33 #

    I prescribe: a Mansize box of Kleenex and a MAN-sized packet of Maltesers.

    If that doesn’t work – hit the wine!

    Like

  11. laurieanichols August 9, 2012 at 12:34 #

    Me too, me too.

    Like

  12. SchmidleysScribbling August 9, 2012 at 14:42 #

    Been there done that, next its grandkids. My granddaughters are each finding their way out into the big world, and my daughter seems delighted with it. Now she knows…….

    Like

  13. SchmidleysScribbling August 9, 2012 at 14:43 #

    PS I already started a baby blanket for the first great-grand kid. My daughter would kill me, but I crochet very slowly. D.

    Like

  14. Janie Jones August 9, 2012 at 16:21 #

    Don’t worry Tilly, it’s all good. There’s a wicked cocktail of natural emotions going on, and in a way it’s kinda like giving birth all over again. The first time you moved him out of your womb, this time you’re moving him out of your house. Either way, they are significant and emotionally charged separations from which there is no turning back. Nothing will be the same. On the plus side, the idea is that things will only get better with these separations. As a wee tot he smiled at you, he learned to walk, he grew up and went off to school; wonderful times. Now as a man, ideally, in time he becomes a wealthy producer capable of showering you with crate after crate of Maltesers, and you will now have a spare room capable of storing several gross of Malteser cartons and possibly even a divan to drape your self across when you’re too bloated from Maltesers to get to your living room sofa. See, I told you it was all good.

    Like

  15. slpmartin August 9, 2012 at 16:43 #

    I still have the trunk my mother gave me to move my things out of the house…as I left for college and my own life…do they call that ‘tough love’? A fine post!

    Like

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife August 12, 2012 at 15:54 #

      Thank you 🙂

      I think birds have the right idea, turfing them out. We don’t do our kids any favours by coddling them. It’s a balance of course, between helping them grow up and making them feel loved. Perhaps that’s what the tears are for 😉

      Like

  16. Elaine - I used to be indecisive August 9, 2012 at 16:44 #

    Doesn’t this mean that you have done your job well? Brought him up well and prepared him for life in the ‘big wide world’. There’s a saying about a parent’s job being to give their children wings so that they can fly – something like that anyway. So… good job done then for you and Hub!

    Like

  17. idiosyncratic eye August 9, 2012 at 17:50 #

    Well you know what they say, absence makes the heart grow fonder. 🙂

    Like

  18. surindernath August 9, 2012 at 18:04 #

    Some laughing and some housewife that or……shall we say…..some mother that. Parents’ dilemma. Laughing but at what cost !!!

    Like

  19. Pseu August 9, 2012 at 20:01 #

    BTW my name is not short for Pseudomonas,

    but I will be in that category of first time mother of University student in a few weeks time (assuming A level results OK next Thursday) – so this Pseu may be moaning when he leaves in October. I thought I may be turning to you for support….

    Like

  20. grannymar August 9, 2012 at 21:28 #

    I took Elly to Uni in Scotland then came home and changed the locks! The locks were changed, but not to keep her out. Twice in her life Elly told me not to cry. One was the day I left her at Uni and the other was as I dressed her for her wedding! I saved my tears for my pillow on both occasions.

    Like

  21. kateshrewsday August 9, 2012 at 22:45 #

    Oh, Tilly, big sigh….I think you’re very brave. I cannot imagine letting go….

    Like

  22. Gabrielle Bryden August 10, 2012 at 01:21 #

    Your going to make me cry now – boohoohoo – it is a huge shift isn’t it – a pivot in life’s events and no turning back – the good, the bad and the ugly – but reason enough to sob and snot 😉 Here’s a big mummy hug from me to you. Sounds like you’ve done a good job with the boy.

    Like

  23. judithatwood August 10, 2012 at 02:04 #

    Sniffle, sniffle! 😎

    Like

  24. bluebee August 10, 2012 at 23:57 #

    Woohoo – a blogging room to call your own! The boy loves his mum – he’ll, no doubt, be a regular visitor

    Like

  25. wherefivevalleysmeet September 7, 2012 at 13:52 #

    The fact that he has departed happily, means that you have done a good job. That is what great mums do, they prepare their young to stand on their own two feet. You are entitled to feel sad.

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.