Archive | 18:28

Please Talk Amongst Yourselves For A While

12 Aug

I have something coming up this week and I won’t be around much.  I have scheduled some reposts of old posts for you.  Enjoy!

Or ignore.

It’s up to you.  

It’s not like I can do anything about it.

But don’t leave me.

That would be too cruel.

I’ll be back next week, I swear.

Barring stray buses, of course, or Ebola.

Crosville SNG383 (GMB 383T)

Crosville SNG383 (GMB 383T) (Photo credit: iantherev)

Weekly Photo Challenge: Wrong

12 Aug

It is wrong for a son to make fun of his father.  

 

This has never stopped my sons.

‘Dad’ by T. Boy. Medium: Drill on MDF

Portrait of the artist as a cheeky boy.

 

Joke 507

12 Aug

 

A bell-ringer in a bell tower. Ropes lead from...

A bell-ringer in a bell tower. Ropes lead from the clappers of the bells to the station where the ringer stands. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Or Joke 506 (Part Two).  From Will & Guy.

The next day, despite the sadness of the unfortunate death of the armless campanologist, the bishop continued his interviews for the bell-ringer of Notre Dame.

The first man to approach him said, ‘Your Excellency, I am the brother of the poor armless wretch that fell to his death from this very belfry yesterday.  I pray that you will honour my brother’s life by allowing me to replace him as your esteemed bell ringer.’

The bishop agreed to give the man an audition and, as the armless man’s brother stooped to pick up a mallet to strike the first bell, he groaned, clutched at his chest, twirled around, hitting the bell as he did so, and died on the spot.

A monk, hearing the bishop’s cries of grief at this second tragedy, rushed up the stairs to his side. ‘What has happened? Who is this man?’

‘I don’t know his name’, sighed the distraught bishop, ‘but he’s a dead ringer for his brother.’