Archive | 21:50

Five Word Saturday Evening

25 Aug

We got the house back!

All of our visitors, young and old,  have gone; lunch was successfully provided; the house is ours once more.

Hooray!

Thanks for the great food advice, everyone.

Now, what shall I serve the two fellas coming to watch the match tomorrow afternoon?

The Worst Meal Of The Day

25 Aug

Two visitors leave;

two more arrive.

The niece and nephew are being collected today.  They are lovely children and we love having them, but it will be nice not to have to make lunch.

Lunch is the worst meal of the day; I never know what to make.  I’ve already had cereal; I hate sandwiches; toast makes me queasy.  What else is there?

In winter, the Hub and I often have porridge or soup, but it’s too warm for that right now, even with the rain.  Yes, it’s worth offloading two delightful children just so I don’t have to worry about making lunch.

Around the time my young guests leave, two old ones will arrive.  The Hub’s sister and her husband visit us a couple of times a year.  They live on the Isle of Wight.

I guess they’ll be needing some lunch.

&

For more Six Word Saturdays go here.

Joke 520

25 Aug

Another joke from Cliff.

Out bicycling one day with her eight-year-old granddaughter, Carolyn, Grandma got a little wistful.  “In ten years,” she said, “you’ll want to be with your friends and you won’t go walking, biking, and swimming with me like you do now.”

Carolyn shrugged. “In ten years you’ll be too old to do all those things anyway.”