Joke 601

14 Nov
Mamá

Mamá (Photo credit: RebelCallejeros)

This one’s from plannedparrothood.

Four successful brothers chatted after having dinner together. They discussed the 95th birthday gifts they were able to give their elderly mother.

Milton said, “You know I had a big house built for Mama.” 

Michael said, “And I had my Mercedes dealer deliver an SL600 to her.”

Marvin said, “And I had a large theatre built in the house.”

Melvin said, “You know how Mama loved reading the Bible and you know she can’t read any more because she can’t see very well. I met this preacher who told me about a parrot who could recite the entire Bible. It took ten preachers almost 8 years to teach him. I had to pledge to contribute $50,000 a year for five years to the church, but it was worth it. Mama only has to name the chapter and verse, and the parrot will recite it.”

The other brothers were impressed.

After the celebration, Mama sent out her “Thank You” notes.

She wrote:

“Milton, the house you built is so huge that I live in only one room, but I have to clean the whole house. Thanks anyway.”

“Michael, I am too old to travel. I stay home; I have my groceries delivered, so I never use the Mercedes. The thought was good. Thanks.”

“Marvin, you gave me an expensive theatre with Dolby sound and it can hold 50 people, but all of my friends are dead, I’ve lost my hearing, and I’m nearly blind. I’ll never use it. Thank you for the gesture just the same.”

“Dearest Melvin, you were the only son to have the good sense to give a little thought to your gift. The chicken was delicious. Thank you so much.”

22 Responses to “Joke 601”

  1. adinparadise November 14, 2012 at 04:24 #

    Bwahahaha. Thanks for the bedtime giggles, Tilly. 🙂

    Like

  2. slpmartin November 14, 2012 at 04:35 #

    Oh that end of this caught me off guard…loved it…still laughing!

    Like

  3. sonofwalt November 14, 2012 at 04:56 #

    Bazinga! ahahahahaha

    Like

  4. lenwilliamscarver November 14, 2012 at 05:04 #

    oh no you did not post this! it is so hilarious and something I can see truly happening. thanks now I will be giggling in my sleep and the hubs will think I am dreaming of hanky panky! LOL

    Like

  5. benzeknees November 14, 2012 at 06:02 #

    Hahahahahahahahahahahaha

    Like

  6. jmgoyder November 14, 2012 at 07:33 #

    I was definitely not expecting that!

    Like

  7. vivinfrance November 14, 2012 at 08:09 #

    I love the ending, though I’m sad for the parrot/chicken and those silly sons. 🙂

    Like

  8. sharechair November 14, 2012 at 12:33 #

    Read this one out loud to my husband this morning on the way to work. It was great to see him laughing on the way out the door (instead of the usual ‘sigh’) … 🙂 Funny one!

    Like

  9. viveka November 14, 2012 at 14:34 #

    WoOOoOOOOoOooooOobderFUL!!!!!

    Like

  10. misswhiplash November 14, 2012 at 16:20 #

    loved it !!!!!

    Like

  11. Hattie November 14, 2012 at 17:58 #

    That got a laugh out of me!

    Like

  12. robincoyle November 14, 2012 at 19:12 #

    That reminds me of this joke: A man gave his elderly mother champagne and caviar for her birthday. She wrote him a note and said, “Thank you son, but the ginger ale was flat and the raspberry preserves were fishy.”

    Like

  13. Al November 14, 2012 at 19:45 #

    I’m thinking the parrot’s last words were “forgive her lord, for she knows not what she eats.”

    Like

  14. Grannymar November 15, 2012 at 10:01 #

    makes me glad I don’t have sons.

    Like

  15. lanceleuven November 18, 2012 at 09:41 #

    Excellent! 🙂

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

