Shoulda, Woulda, Coulda…Can’t

16 Feb

WordPress is playing silly beggars again

I’m frustrated and I’m snotty and that’s not a good combination.  Prepare for a grumpy post.

Last week, I didn’t visit your blogs because I was unwell.

This week, I won’t visit your blogs because WordPress is unwell.  Every time I click your links, whether in my email inbox, blog roll, from your comments, or even my own previews, I get a 502 or 504 message: basically, we’re not letting you in in WordPress-speak.  It took many hours yesterday to comment on about twenty blogs.  

Woes of a Literal Marketer: Link Bait

Woes of a Literal Marketer: Link Bait (Photo credit: HubSpot)

I’m getting 400-600 spam comments in my spam box every day and my stats have gone down quite dramatically (for those of you who remember the chart, that’s Brit-speak for ‘way more than I like and if it carries on I’m giving the whole thing up for good’, not Rest-of-the-world-speak for ‘dropped a little dramatically but not more than I can handle’).

I wonder if the spam thing is related to the stats thing, because they happened around the same time; or is it just coincidence?

If you’re not getting comments from me on many of your posts, it’s WordPress’s

Peter Steiner's cartoon

Peter Steiner’s cartoon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

fault.  I’m sorry, I can’t do anything about it.

One of last week’s prompts was: Tell us about something you know you should do . . . but don’t.  It was entitled, Shoulda, Woulda, Coulda.

I shoulda stopped blogging before I thumped my laptop and I woulda stopped blogging if I coulda, because my perfect blood pressure caused by my even temper is about to be a thing of the past, but I can’t because they sucked me in with their ridiculous prompts and their world-wide network of people who say nice things in the comments section.  They’ve sucked me in so deep I may never get out.

I’m going to kick the Hub now, because we don’t have a cat.

For less irritable Six Word Saturdays, go here.

 

33 Responses to “Shoulda, Woulda, Coulda…Can’t”

  1. sarsm February 16, 2013 at 09:14 #

    DON’T GIVE UP!!!!!

    Now we’ve cleared that up – I hope WordPress starts behaving for you again soon.

    How many spam comments did you get before the increase? I think the stats could have dropped for a number of reasons. I posted a new article just after midnight and I was still up. I noticed a couple of bloggers ‘liked’ it pretty much instantly but that I only had one hit. I discovered that you can now like and comment from the email and that means no hits.

    (Of course, this could have been the case for a while and I just never noticed it.)

    Like

  2. lenwilliamscarver February 16, 2013 at 09:18 #

    LOL I have to laugh cause I don’t REALLY like to cry, but I know from where you are
    as I have been there to many times so far.
    Yet, I like you suffer withdrawals when I don’t hear
    from the likes of you. for you are my friends and my sanity
    when all else in my world goes wrong..
    I can come to blog and preen as if in front of my vanity! 🙂

    Like

  3. cessie February 16, 2013 at 10:28 #

    How annoying is that! Things like that just need to do their job 😉
    Can imagine you are frustrated and hope it’ll get solved soon!

    Like

  4. vivinfrance February 16, 2013 at 10:34 #

    I’ve been having similar problems clicking on the links in the email notifications (specially to your blog) but find that if I click on the link that appears at the end of the email, that one works. I get 1 or 2 spam per day and sometimes none. What are you putting in your blog that attracts the weirdos?

    Like

  5. jmgoyder February 16, 2013 at 10:53 #

    No excuse – haha!

    Like

  6. Ron. February 16, 2013 at 11:57 #

    My plan for world domination, including its 1st steps (crippling the best blogs, silencing the best bloggers) is well underway. BWHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

    Like

  7. Elaine - I used to be indecisive February 16, 2013 at 11:57 #

    How unkind of WordPress to treat you like that when you aren’t feeling well! Thoughtless of them. And poor Hub – hope he was wearing full protective armour when you vented your frustrations on him! 🙂

    Like

  8. Judith Atwood February 16, 2013 at 12:56 #

    Dear Tilly Bud, please take a long vacation from commenting on my stuff if you need to. YOu deserve a restful weekend. 😎

    Like

  9. Jim February 16, 2013 at 13:38 #

    🙂 Hi Ms. T. Bud ~~ I hope things get better for you with the Word Press. Happy blogging is one of your joys, I can tell.

    I like your dog cartoon. Word Press messes up my Gravatar link so I’m leaving a comment link here for you this morning.
    Jim’s Six Words for the 16th
    ..

    Like

  10. laurieanichols February 16, 2013 at 13:52 #

    Me dearest Tilly,
    Please under no circumstances ever stop blogging. You are too important to too many of your readers; we will go into withdrawal and that isn’t good. WordPress maybe is getting you back for some of the fun you have had at their expense, the prompters may be having their April Fool’s fun a bit early. I hope that you continue feeling better.

    Like

  11. Grannymar February 16, 2013 at 14:19 #

    I have noticed an increase in these barred notices to WP.com blogs. When I manage to get through, about half of my comments are eaten for lunch and never appear again. If and when I manage to update my blog, I do not want a like button, I prefer an actual comment. Now take a break for a few days and then come back with new vigour.

    Like

  12. mairedubhtx February 16, 2013 at 14:33 #

    Sorry you’re having such trouble with Word Press. I don’t know what causes these problems. It happens occasionally to me, but only rarely and only to some posts. It’s highly frustrating when it does because there are some I really want to read and I keep getting error messages. I don’t pretend to know why. I just grit my teeth and growl and move along. Fortunately, it hasn’t been a huge problem. I hope yours resolves itself soon.

    Like

  13. Dana February 16, 2013 at 14:33 #

    I’m sorry you’re having all these troubles. I hope it all gets straightened out soon.

    Like

  14. McGuffyAnn February 16, 2013 at 14:53 #

    You always make me smile. Thank you.

    Like

  15. Patrecia Upton February 16, 2013 at 15:15 #

    I wondered how I had been able to write posts without your comments. I thought you had deserted me…..Does it really matter…this stats lark? Is it really that important? What does it prove?
    As long as i enjoy what I am doing…damn the stats.

    Don’t you dare leave us……without a Captain at the helm we would all float listlessly like the Carnival Triumph

    Like

  16. restlessjo February 16, 2013 at 16:08 #

    Oh, bless you, Tilly! Whoever said that life is not all roses- I’m on their side. Yours too!

    Like

  17. what3mark February 16, 2013 at 16:27 #

    Dear laughing housewife, hope you are well i have noticed the receipt of a certain spam since i subscribed (to you), which in oldspeak would be referred to as vulgar should you receive an unsubscribe from me, it will not be because i don’t enjoy visiting your blogsite, but because i’m a snippy old snoot who doesn’t enjoy smut in my spam thank you laugh on

    Like

  18. Kathe W February 16, 2013 at 16:35 #

    hoo boy- I feel your pain. Altho mine was with googles Blogger- I’ve had my blog since 2006 and really didn’t want to have to switch- but it was giving me fits and I wa having to stand on my head facing East before I could simply enter a new post. So- I began to build a new blog using wordpress…well! That was an excecise in frustration…so I trudged back to my original blog and wrote crabby bitchy emails to the non-existent support people in Google until I got the attention from a lot of other users who were cross also…it finally got fixed…but it was a hellacious 3 weeks before it was…so good luck with wordpress and give your Hub a hug! Enjoy your weekend- hopefully your woes are fixed soon!

    Like

  19. Rorybore February 16, 2013 at 16:46 #

    Oh don’t even get me started on WordPress woes. It hates me and I never know if I will be in WordPress Jail, get at 3 day pass…..or a giant Welcome, We’ve missed you sign. And the spam lately has been atrocious.
    It’s a conspiracy….no doubt about it. Hang in there though!

    Like

  20. gigihawaii February 16, 2013 at 17:36 #

    I am on WordPress.com and haven’t had your type of problem, yet. Thanks for your comment on my posts, Tilly. I appreciate them.

    Like

  21. SidevieW February 16, 2013 at 18:02 #

    The spam generating software does target those blogs with a lot of traffic

    Like

    • vivinfrance February 16, 2013 at 20:45 #

      So it’s a compliment really. Tillybud, you’d better deprive all those spammers of their Malteser privileges!

      Like

      • SidevieW February 17, 2013 at 06:16 #

        definitely, share the maltesers with me 😉

        Like

  22. Katharine Trauger February 16, 2013 at 19:21 #

    So Sorry!!!!

    I’ve had troubles, too. I actually got a note saying I need to update my browser or they won’t mess with me anymore. Well, I do have a 2-year-old laptop. Crud.

    Someday we’ll get together. Did get a comment from you today. Thanks. 🙂

    Like

  23. Linda February 16, 2013 at 19:23 #

    Dear Laughing Housewife…these have not been “laughing matters”…and I am sorry. Hope you will soon be laughing again! (:>)

    Try to have a Happy Saturday!

    Linda

    Like

  24. Tonya February 16, 2013 at 19:42 #

    I hope your world gets better very soon! You make my world better with your words so please don’t ever stop blogging! 🙂

    Like

  25. viveka February 16, 2013 at 22:24 #

    Linda, WP has their days … and I’m surprised they don’t have more problems with the amount of people using them. Don’t worry about my post and comments on them .. I know you’re out there. *smile I hope you kick him with carefulness. *smile

    Like

  26. Jess February 16, 2013 at 22:45 #

    When blogging goes well its yay but what you are describing sounds horrible and especially when you are under the weather.I hope it all sorts itself out and pronto xxxx

    Like

  27. slpmartin February 17, 2013 at 00:11 #

    I heard from another blogger that they were getting comments to his site that were not related to any of his post…all were coming via Facebook to WordPress….hope your problem gets cleared up soon.

    Like

  28. benzeknees February 17, 2013 at 01:44 #

    Oh, please get well soon! I’m sorry you are having such a hard time, especially when you’re not feeling well!

    Like

  29. bluebee February 17, 2013 at 07:52 #

    My blog is not popular enough to attract this kind of trouble, so I can’t help, sorry…

    Like

  30. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade) February 17, 2013 at 10:20 #

    I sympathise! I am not a WordPress user but I loathe it anyway. I find it often makes leaving comments difficult and time-consuming, sometimes so much so that I just give up in the end. I did once try to
    create a WP blog, but I very soon ran screaming back to Blogger.

    Like

  31. Marion Driessen February 17, 2013 at 14:10 #

    THAT much spam? That is awful. Especially with a snotty head. I’m sorry, Tilly, I hope your troubles are over soon!

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.