Archive | 09:00

Shoulda, Woulda, Coulda…Can’t

16 Feb

WordPress is playing silly beggars again

I’m frustrated and I’m snotty and that’s not a good combination.  Prepare for a grumpy post.

Last week, I didn’t visit your blogs because I was unwell.

This week, I won’t visit your blogs because WordPress is unwell.  Every time I click your links, whether in my email inbox, blog roll, from your comments, or even my own previews, I get a 502 or 504 message: basically, we’re not letting you in in WordPress-speak.  It took many hours yesterday to comment on about twenty blogs.  

Woes of a Literal Marketer: Link Bait

Woes of a Literal Marketer: Link Bait (Photo credit: HubSpot)

I’m getting 400-600 spam comments in my spam box every day and my stats have gone down quite dramatically (for those of you who remember the chart, that’s Brit-speak for ‘way more than I like and if it carries on I’m giving the whole thing up for good’, not Rest-of-the-world-speak for ‘dropped a little dramatically but not more than I can handle’).

I wonder if the spam thing is related to the stats thing, because they happened around the same time; or is it just coincidence?

If you’re not getting comments from me on many of your posts, it’s WordPress’s

Peter Steiner's cartoon

Peter Steiner’s cartoon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

fault.  I’m sorry, I can’t do anything about it.

One of last week’s prompts was: Tell us about something you know you should do . . . but don’t.  It was entitled, Shoulda, Woulda, Coulda.

I shoulda stopped blogging before I thumped my laptop and I woulda stopped blogging if I coulda, because my perfect blood pressure caused by my even temper is about to be a thing of the past, but I can’t because they sucked me in with their ridiculous prompts and their world-wide network of people who say nice things in the comments section.  They’ve sucked me in so deep I may never get out.

I’m going to kick the Hub now, because we don’t have a cat.

For less irritable Six Word Saturdays, go here.

 

Joke 695

16 Feb
funny-quote-01

funny-quote-01 (Photo credit: Dancing Lemur)

Quote…Unquote

  • Never judge a book by its movie.   JW Eagan
  • Laughing at our mistakes can lengthen our own life. Laughing at someone else’s can shorten it. Cullen Hightower
  • If you haven’t found something strange during the day, it hasn’t been much of a day. John A. Wheeler
  • She got her looks from her father. He’s a plastic surgeon.  Groucho Marx
  • My wife’s jealousy is getting ridiculous. The other day she looked at my calendar and wanted to know who May was.  Rodney Dangerfield
  • Did you ever walk into a room and forget why you walked in? I think that’s how dogs spend their lives.  Sue Murphy
  • Instead of giving a politician the keys to the city, it might be better to change the locks.  Doug Larson
  • Politics is the art of looking for trouble, finding it whether it exists or not, diagnosing it incorrectly, and applying the wrong remedy.  Ernest Benn
  • Computers make it easier to do a lot of things, but most of the things they make it easier to do don’t need to be done.  Andy Rooney
  • The length of a film should be directly related to the endurance of the human bladder.  Alfred Hitchcock
  • The government’s view of the economy could be summed up in a few short phrases: If it moves, tax it. If it keeps moving, regulate it. And if it stops moving, subsidize it.  Ronald Reagan
  • There’s no trick to being a humorist when you have the whole government working for you.  Will Rogers
  • funny-quote-02

    funny-quote-02 (Photo credit: Dancing Lemur)

    The music business is a cruel and shallow money trench, a long plastic hallway where thieves and pimps run free, and good men die like dogs. There’s also a negative side.  Hunter S. Thompson

From Will & Guy