Joke 891

31 Aug

Today’s subject matter was inspired by KiwiDutch, who blogged about her visit to the UK.

From Just For Fun

You’re hiking around on Hampstead Heath (a park near London) at the end of a long sunny day.

You run across the ghosts of Sir Winston Churchill, Lord Baden Powell, and Sir Edmund Hillary.  Each gives you different directions to the nearest tube stop.

Who do you think is lying?

Answer: Your story teller, for there is no such thing as a completely sunny day in England.

From The Daily Jester

 

25 Responses to “Joke 891”

  1. Terry August 31, 2013 at 04:05 #

    I have just learned something new about England!

    Like

  2. slpmartin August 31, 2013 at 04:08 #

    Ha…on my first visit to London I had almost an entire week of sunshine…of course most folks in London spent the week staring at the sky and so I had no long discussion with most people I met. 🙂

    Like

  3. vastlycurious.com August 31, 2013 at 05:08 #

    I do not think I am qualified to answer she said somberly……what is the right answer please……smiles a bit …..

    OKAY that was my first answer until I went back and read again..

    YEs..totally literal here 🙂

    Like

  4. viveka August 31, 2013 at 06:45 #

    Linda, now you where not completely fair against the British weather …. but it was funny.

    Like

  5. http://vivinfrance.wordpress.com August 31, 2013 at 08:29 #

    Untrue, unfair and detrimental to the British tourist industry! 😀

    Like

  6. kateshrewsday August 31, 2013 at 09:05 #

    Ain’t that the truth….

    Like

  7. granny1947 August 31, 2013 at 18:22 #

    When I was in England it was sunny every day…don’t understand the joke. 🙂

    Like

  8. sharechair September 1, 2013 at 00:50 #

    Rain? London?

    Like

  9. bluebee September 1, 2013 at 00:54 #

    I was in London during a particularly hot summer (I think it was 1978) and people were sunbathing in Hyde Park.

    Like

  10. adinparadise September 1, 2013 at 01:20 #

    I had one completely sunny day whilst at my MiL’s, so I took the chance to do our laundry. 🙂

    Like

  11. kiwidutch September 2, 2013 at 12:11 #

    What I found really “interesting” about the British and their weather was that before we crossed the channel there were some fabulously fine days… we watched the BBC at home in the Hague and saw raves on the News and from the weather people about the possibilities of an amazing summer… since it was almost 30 C in The Netherlands too we get so optimistic that we didn’t even pack rain jackets…

    … and yes it rained…. and rained…. and rained. Don’t get me wrong, there were stunningly fine days inbetween too, but it certainly wasn’t the summer weather we had been lead to believe should expect. We learned our lesson the hard way. LOL.

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife September 2, 2013 at 15:47 #

      The one thing you can rely on in Britain is the knowledge that you can never rely on the weather 🙂

      Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.