Archive | 14:00

101/1001 (15)

8 Jul

Another quiet week on the challenge front.

I did learn of one new Maltesers game thanks to Fi Sefton:

Put a big bag of Maltesers in a bowl, take it in turns to pick up (and eat if you can pick it up) a Malteser with a pair of chopsticks.

I like the sound of this game and I might introduce it as a new Christmas tradition, with a specially-purchased box, of course, because Tilly doesn’t share Maltesers.

There is one drawback: I fear for my family’s eyesight.  Anyone who manages to capture and eat more Maltesers than me may just find themselves walking around with a chopstick poking out of their skull.  At least it will give them somewhere to hang their coat when they find themselves on the street.

*

Many of the challenges are ongoing – learning kings and things, for example; but there is one I completed long ago that I haven’t mentioned: I know the South African anthem off by heart. 

I haven’t mentioned it because I haven’t gotten around to being video taped singing it.  I’ll get on that this week.  Better hurry: there’s likely to be a rush on ear plugs.

&

We’re Halfway Through The Year And WordPress Hasn’t Cottoned On To Me Yet

8 Jul
Blondin

Image by tim ellis via Flickr

How do you know where your boundaries are?

I walk until I hit a wall, then I stop.  It hasn’t failed me so far.

Alternative answer:

I’ll know when an enraged WP prompter takes a hatchet to my blog and I disappear from your screen, never to be heard of again.

I’ll drown my sorrows in gin.  I don’t really drink but I am a mum and it is called ‘mother’s ruin’.  May as well do the thing properly.

*

Are you too lazy or too busy?

Depends what you want me to do…

Bonus:

Why is it so hard to find a balance? 

Gin. 

Do you know anyone who has a better balance than you do?  

Blondin. 

What do you think their secret is? 

No gin.

*

Joke 106

8 Jul

An editor, a photographer, and a journalist (not from The News of the World, obviously) are covering a political convention in Miami. They decide to walk up and down the beach during their lunch hour. Halfway up the beach, they stumbled upon a lamp. As they rub the lamp a genie appears and says, “Normally I would grant you three wishes, but since there are three of you, I will grant you each one wish.”

The photographer went first. “I would like to spend the rest of my life living in a huge house in the Bahamas, with no money worries.”  The genie granted his wish and sent him off to the Bahamas.

The journalist went next. “I would like to spend the rest of my life living on a huge yacht cruising the Mediterranean, with no money worries.”   The genie granted his wish and sent him off to the Mediterranean.

Then it was the editor’s turn. “And what would your wish be?” asked the genie.

“I want them both back after lunch,” replied the editor; ”the deadline for tomorrow’s paper is in ten hours.”