Archive | 15:04

Computer Says No

23 Jul
Electric kettle

Image via Wikipedia

People are too dependent on technology: agree or disagree?

Sorry I took a while to answer this; the internet went down.  I didn’t know what to do with myself so I made a cup of tea (so quick with an electric kettle, America; you should think about getting one), popped in a dvd and watched The Waltons while my washing was in the machine and tonight’s dinner was stewing in the slow cooker.  Once I’d spoken to my sons in Lancaster, the internet was back up and so here I am.

People are too dependent on technology?  I totally disagree.

Up The Blue!

23 Jul
120

Image via Wikipedia

Time to get the wallpaper out.

*

*

I packed Spud Bud off to his brother in Lancaster yesterday – having first insisted he pack up his room, then pack his own suitcase – and today I start decorating.

The last time I decorated Spud’s room he thought Thomas the Tank Engine was the height of interior decoration sophistication.  Fortunately, he moved into his brother’s room before train curtains became an issue.

Tory Boy opted for a Japanese theme when I decorated his room; Spud has never been keen on it and I promised to give it a makeover while he’s away.

I calculate the whole thing will cost me a pound: I have one box of wallpaper paste left from last time; but I’ll need to buy another.  I have plain blue paper from Freegle; one plain white and government-decorators-expensive roll from Tory Boy’s former workplace (he had permission; we’re scavengers, not thieves); and many, many two-thirds-empty tins of various shades of white paint.  Spud lives and breathes Manchester City: it will be like he’s sleeping in their boardroom.

I have been doing this makeover for several years now.  He has a blue canvas wardrobe (Freegle), almost matching blue curtains (Freegle), a blue rug (charity shop), and a blue light bed throw (stolen from ours one hot summer night).  The paper and paint will complete the look.

As a result, I won’t be around to comment much on your blogs over the next week and I might not get to reply to everyone commenting here.  Please don’t take it personally.  I will still post daily (hooray for the schedule button!) and visit you as much as I can.

*

 Check out the other people taking part in the Six Word Saturday challenge.

Joke 121

23 Jul

I wouldn’t say I was a bad cook but my husband refers to the smoke detector as the oven timer.