Archive | 10:19

Nature v Nurture v Nutter

2 Nov
Important Statistics

Image by DrJohnBullas via Flickr

What % of who and what you are is determined by genetics vs your own choices?

Let me just get my PhD in The Science Of Genetics And Other Stuff You Never Expected To Need To Be A Blogger and check…I know I’ve got one somewhere; I found it in my email spam box…ah, yes, here it is.  Now, percentages, genetics…

% – a funny symbol used by mathematicians and WordPress prompters to prove that they have too much time on their hands. 

Genetics – nervous habits inherited from your parents (think about it…)

Choices – those things you used to have before marriage and children.

Here’s a diagram of me:

Tilly Bud

I am made up of

  • 37% laughter
  • 24% secret laughter
  • 18% Maltesers
  • 21% phony statistics

My Dad liked to laugh and eat chocolates (he used to steal from the sweet drawer my Mum kept for the grandchildren and more than once she would say, Let’s see what Grandma’s got for you here and find herself with an empty drawer and a skriking toddler), so that’s genetic.

My Mum never made up statistics, seventy percent of the time, so that’s neither genetic nor environment and must come from the thumbsuck part of my development.

So there you have it: I’m a laughing chocolate ball with a mean streak. 

And they say education is a waste of resources…!

  

Joke 223

2 Nov

A noted criminal defence lawyer was making his closing argument for his client accused of murder, although the body of the victim had never been found. The lawyer dramatically turned to the courtroom’s clock and, pointing to it, announced, “Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, I have some astounding news. I have found the supposed victim of this murder to be alive! In just ten seconds, she will walk through the door of this courtroom.”

A heavy quiet suddenly fell over the courtroom as everyone waited for the dramatic entry. But nothing happened.

The smirking lawyer continued, “The mere fact that you were watching the door, expecting the victim to walk into this courtroom, is clear proof that you have far more than even a reasonable doubt as to whether a murder was actually committed.”

Tickled with the impact of his cleverness, the cocky lawyer confidently sat down to await acquittal.

The jury was instructed, filed out, and filed back in just ten minutes later with a guilty verdict.

When the judge brought the proceedings to an end, the dismayed lawyer chased after the jury foreman: “Guilty? How could you convict? You were all watching the door!”

“Well,” the foreman explained, “most of us were watching the door. But one of us was watching the defendant, and he wasn’t watching the door.”