Archive | 10:23

CoWAring

21 Nov

Before I award this week’s CoWAbunger, I have to ask you not to inundate me with outraged comments and hate mail.  

I have gone against the habit of a lifetime and…accepted a compliment

I know, I know!  What was I thinking?  All of you good, self-restrained commenters who never say anything nice to or about me must be furious.  Those of you with less self-restraint who let slip the odd nice remark which I studiously ignore must be seething.

I’m sorry; I couldn’t help myself.  I’m weak, I know, but she hit me on my Achilles scalp:

  I don’t think it is possible to not love France. Viv is tinier than I had thought, and your hair is beautiful, Tilly!  cindy

Here is the photo which inspired her sincere but factually incorrect compliment on my post France, Day 4:

I have dreadful hair; not manky like my teeth, but thin and mousey and flyaway.  My plaits look like drab friendship bracelets; when my hair is short I look like a boy; when it’s long I have to tie it back because the static electric shocks to the lips really hurt.  My family take turns thanking me for the hair in their food, despite tie backs and a head covering when I prepare meals.  I have never, ever been complimented on my hair in my entire life.  Is it any wonder I caved?

Thank you, Cindy, for making my day.  Hair is your award:

And have another one for being nice about France:

 

Go and visit Cindy at her blog, The Only Cin; especially if you love good food.

Joke 242

21 Nov

Three vampires walk into a bar. The bartender looks at them with suspicion, but decides to serve them anyway. “What’ll it be, boys?”

The first vampire says “Blood. Give me blood.”

The second vampire says “I too wish for blood!”

The third vampire says, “Give me plasma.”

The bartender smiles and says, “Got it. Two bloods, and a blood-light.”