Out Of The Office******

22 Oct

I will be taking a short blogging break this week.  Viv and Pseu, instead of giving me what I thought would be about a two-week break from Apartheid’s All Right…,  must have sat up for several long nights, trawling through my book.

The results are in and they approve enough that I only need to take a shortish sabbatical from my first love (you), to fix daft mistakes (page number, anyone?) and wean myself from my favourite punctuation mark: the semi-colon (the colon is my second favourite).

Thank you again, Viv and Pseu, for doing this.  And for your efficiency.  

I suppose.

While AAR... was being critiqued, I had intended to work on my poo collection* but that will have to wait a bit longer.

*Don’t panic, New Subscribers; you haven’t signed up to some weird, kinky blog by accident.  I’m talking about a book of poems about poo (okay, maybe a little bit weird) that I am going to use as a practice run for publishing my own e-book. It will be available to download for free.  It can’t be kinky if it’s free on the internet, can it?

While I’m at it: (hmm…maybe my first- and second-placed punctuation marks are in the wrong order; like my favourite top two films of all time** they are almost interchangeable).

**Terminator 1 and 2; I can never decide which one I love more.  You can see why I might love them both, just like the colon and semicolon: the second stems from the first; has a similar function; but works brilliantly on its own.

Where was I?  Oh, yes: while I’m at it: apologies to New Subscribers (assuming you’re still here at this point) for abandoning you so soon after we’ve just met.  I will only be gone a few days.  A week at the most.  A month, tops.***

***Who am I kidding?  A few days away from the blogosphere and my head threatens to explode.  My regular readers know that, which is why I didn’t bother apologising to them for my absence.****  They know there will barely be one.

*********Viv, I hope you appreciated that full stop/new sentence; I can take criticism and learn from it.

*****Because I have overdosed on the asterisks (try saying that when you’ve had a few; I couldn’t manage it sober), I have colour-coded the remarks so that you don’t get confused.  That’s much easier to read, isn’t it?

However long I am gone, you will still have your daily joke.  Enjoy them but, most of all, miss me.  My ego can’t handle indifference.

******I say ‘Out Of The Office’ but I won’t be, of course.  I don’t have an office.  I have a living room with an untidy desk (the Hub’s) and computer (the Hub’s). If I want to be like Virginia Woolf (I don’t) and have ‘a room of one’s own’ in which to write (I do), I will either have to wait five years while Spud finishes school and university (he will be going into the small room when he moves out but his bedroom has been earmarked – by me – for the Hub and his messy desk and his computer and his stuff), or sell a lot of free e-books.

17 Responses to “Out Of The Office******”

  1. jmgoyder October 22, 2012 at 09:49 #

    You are one of the funniest people I have ever come across and the only one who can overdose on asterisks. Have a fruitful blog break to get your project into the limelight!

    Like

  2. Ron. October 22, 2012 at 10:34 #

    Oh, you blog?

    Like

  3. sharechair October 22, 2012 at 11:23 #

    Don’t enjoy your time away too much …… 🙂

    Like

  4. Elaine - I used to be indecisive October 22, 2012 at 11:30 #

    Don’t be away too long… 🙂

    Like

  5. mairedubhtx October 22, 2012 at 13:36 #

    I LOVE the semicolon! It comes in so handy; it continues thoughts without those pesky period full stops.

    Like

  6. laurieanicholslaurieanichols October 22, 2012 at 14:18 #

    This is exciting, of course I will miss you but I am thrilled that you are this much closer to archiving your goal. Hooray for Tilly and hooray for Viv and Pseu for helping!

    Like

    • vivinfrance October 22, 2012 at 15:09 #

      I hope, rather than ending up in the archives, that the book will be achieved! (Sorry, I got into the nit-picky habit again through critiquing Tilly’s maître d’oeuvre.)

      Like

  7. sarsm October 22, 2012 at 15:07 #

    No indifference here.

    Don’t drink too much tea while you’re correcting those daft mistakes or you’ll have to keep running to the loo. And ultimately, of course, that will keep you away from us for longer.

    Like

  8. Pseu October 22, 2012 at 18:53 #

    Are those draft mistakes or daft mistakes? Or daft mistakes in the draft? Or draughty daft mistakes?

    All power to your elbow.

    (Did Viv say lots of different things to me? )

    Like

  9. kateshrewsday October 22, 2012 at 21:50 #

    Erk! Have just remembered e mail encountered some time in the last week…will deal, Tilly, if it’s still a goer.
    If not: well- have a fab bloggy break anyway.

    Like

  10. benzeknees October 23, 2012 at 01:40 #

    We’ll miss you Linda, but it’s all in a good cause. Come back soon!

    Like

  11. viveka October 23, 2012 at 13:36 #

    Love that picture … will miss you. Ones again … I have to say that I don’t know anyone write so much about nothing as you can .. and half of it I don’t understand, but there is loads of things I don’t understand. Miss you … a lot.

    Like

  12. Grannymar October 23, 2012 at 18:14 #

    If you leave us the Maltesers, the pain will be dulled. Work well and we might come back! 😉 You know well that we will hanging by our fingernails in anticipation.

    Like

  13. Janie Jones October 24, 2012 at 12:50 #

    I would make some rude snarky comment about you’re ignoring us to write, of all things A BOOK, but I’m so depressed that all we’ll get from you for an indeterminate period of time is jokes that I can’t be bothered to insult you. I’m going to go fantasize about eating Maltesers now.

    Seriously, good luck with the book.

    Like

  14. eof737 October 27, 2012 at 14:41 #

    Hope you enjoyed your time out! 😉

    Like

    • Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife October 27, 2012 at 16:49 #

      Enjoyed single-mindedly focusing on making my book the best it can possibly be so I can have my heart broken when it is rejected by every publisher in Britain?

      Yes, I did 😀

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Search Engine Poetry: The Laughing Housewife « beeblu blog - October 23, 2012

    […] journals and other interesting places, but she’s also about to release what promises to be a very interesting book of poetry memoir, and has another (on poo) in the pipeline […]

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.