Archive | 15:49

Cheryl Cole’s Not The Only One With Problems

4 Jun

Thanks to Cindy for the best laugh of the week.

http://www.youtube.com/v/p3JcHhA7M-Y?version=3“>

Matchstick Girl

4 Jun
Spider web at sunrise
Image via Wikipedia

Halfway through the year and we’ve had no summer. Just the other day, I greeted with gloom the news that this month we will be celebrating the summer solstice, which means that the day after, we’re on the downward spiral to winter.  Now I wish we were already there; at least I’d get some sleep.

The light woke me – again – around five this morning.  Every day for almost a month I’ve been woken around that time, and every day I’ve fought it.  Today, I gave in, got out of bed, and caught up with some television: Rookie Blue and two episodes of Have I Got News For You.  That brought me to six a.m.  That brought me to my feet in annoyed surprise.  That meant I had actually woken at four a.m., misread my watch, and spent two hours not snoozing when I could have been.  I should have suspected something when I put on the fish tank light and they all turned over and went back to sleep.

I’ve had about four hours and I’m grumpy.  That’s why I can tell you that I no longer fear a backlash, as I did last night, from my expectant readers: I haven’t climbed any spider webs; there will be no photographs; and I’m in a very bad mood.

I had to abort yesterday’s mission because there was no one to take pictures: the Hub was on the phone and Spud insisted on revising for next week’s exams.  I was forced to walk the dogs alone and neither of them knows how to work a digital camera.

I can’t do it today because the Hub wants the dogs to have a ‘real’ walk (apparently I just pretend to put one foot in front of the other when I’m out) before the England game.  By that he means he wants to get back to watch the match after taking them to Alexandra Park, the dogs’ favourite place in the world after their food bowl. 

I did hope to use the slide on Gorsey Bank Park tomorrow, but the rain is closing in and I don’t have a spare pair of trousers ironed.

The Hub has promised to take me on the swings next week.  He’d better.  If he doesn’t…expect bruising.

Joke 72

4 Jun

This one is borrowed from braindribble’s blog.

While carpenters were working outside the old house she had just bought, a woman busied herself with indoor cleaning.

She had just finished washing the floor when one of the workmen asked to use the bathroom.

With dismay, the woman looked from his muddy boots to her newly scrubbed floors.

“Just a minute,” she said, thinking of a quick solution. “I’ll put down newspapers.”

“That’s all right, lady,” said the carpenter. “I’m already house trained.”