A P.S. To ‘Amoral’

22 Jun
Flag of Vancouver, British Columbia. Modificat...

Image via Wikipedia

I love coincidences.

Although amoral is not an uncommon word, I wouldn’t say it is used much.  Yesterday, having written my post about that very word, I heard it twice.

The first time was in the Radio 4 show A Good Read, in reference to one of the books under discussion.  The second was in a clip from a Canadian show called The Source, which discussed the behaviour of young people in the recent Vancouver riots.

I wonder if Mr Handle is reading this?  Now that would be a coincidence.

20 Responses to “A P.S. To ‘Amoral’”

  1. Cindy June 22, 2011 at 17:15 #

    I’m sure he’s reading …

    Like

  2. nrhatch June 22, 2011 at 17:18 #

    That’s great. Take that, Mr. Handle!

    The same thing happened with Sidey’s theme of FOLLY this week ~ I started seeing the word FOLLY “everywhere.”

    Like

    • Tilly Bud June 24, 2011 at 11:02 #

      Weird, isn’t it? I never noticed babies or pregnant women until I wanted children, and suddenly they were everywhere.

      Like

  3. Pseu June 22, 2011 at 17:45 #

    Asymmetrical is a very pleasing word too….

    A non-word, used in the medical word I rather like too is this
    ‘acopia’ – as a word to describe someone who just isn’t coping. On a stress ful day I may use it to describe myself
    “Just suffering from a touch of acopia. Nothing that a little TLC wouldn’t cure.”

    Like

    • Tilly Bud June 24, 2011 at 11:03 #

      Both great words. I like that you like words, like me.

      Like

  4. mairedubhtx June 22, 2011 at 18:21 #

    Mr Handel didn’t much look at a dictionary, did he? I use the term amoral frequently in discussions with friends especially about politicians.

    Like

  5. Tinman June 22, 2011 at 19:58 #

    Same thing happened to me, only completely different.
    After my two Mary Poppins posts last week (come and visit me guys, I write really up to date stuff), Mock the Week asked what famous Londoner didn’t get tickets for the Olympics and Hugh Dennis suggested Dick van Dyke, and then I found out that the school Mrs Tin is on the committee of are doing the Mary Poppins play in our local theatre next week.

    I read your ‘amoral’ post yesterday (didn’t mean that the way it sounded) and was too stunned to comment, how did the guy ever get a job teaching English?

    Like

    • Tilly Bud June 24, 2011 at 11:05 #

      It was in days of Yore, after all.

      Love your comment 🙂

      Like

  6. Harry Nicholson June 22, 2011 at 22:19 #

    Ameliorate is a word I like. Amelioration of ameobic amorality in the Amazon.

    Like

    • Tilly Bud June 24, 2011 at 11:07 #

      You talking about that dreadful book that was recently pulled from the site? 🙂

      Like

  7. Harry Nicholson June 22, 2011 at 22:20 #

    Ameobic — no : amoebic. Who cares it’s all dysentary anyway . . .

    Like

  8. slpmartin June 22, 2011 at 23:22 #

    Would be funny if he happened to read first your post and then experience the same thing you did. 😉

    Like

  9. Perfecting Motherhood June 23, 2011 at 06:40 #

    Haha, that’s so funny!

    Like

  10. vivinfrance June 23, 2011 at 07:10 #

    Good on ya, Tilly. You tell ’em. I feel a bit acopic today – it won’t last, I hope.

    Like

    • Tilly Bud June 24, 2011 at 11:10 #

      Hope it didn’t. I had to look up ‘acopic’, thanks. I love new words 🙂

      Like

  11. eof737 June 23, 2011 at 15:13 #

    He probably suggested it to the the others… 😉 Joking! But I do love it when things seem to be illuminated and fall into place after I’ve spent some time writing or talking about it… Shows you’re plugged into some great connector. 🙂

    Like

    • Tilly Bud June 24, 2011 at 11:11 #

      I often find it in the blogosphere as well, that bloggers who don’t know each other are writing on similar themes (not WP prompts, I hasten to add).

      Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.