101/1001 (13)

24 Jun

Thirteen weeks into the challenge and no bad luck at all so far, if I exclude falling off the spider web.

Expose myself to four new experiences (2/4)

You should have read all about Experience 2 in my previous post; I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

Watch 101 new films (17/101)

I managed to fit in three this week, after a bit of a film drought.  One of them was True Grit.  I love a good western, and True Grit is a really good western.  My Dad, who made me love a good western, would have loved it.  It’s because of my Dad and his love for all things western that I know, if I am ever caught in a desert in a thunderstorm, to lie down flat on the ground.  Otherwise I will be the tallest point and the lightning will be gunning for me.  I read that in a Louis L’Amour.

Hit 100,000 visitors on my blog (55,874/100,000)

Visits to my blog have slowed down in the last couple of weeks, but Mirth & Motivation’s blog assures me it’s because of the summer holidays.  I’d like to believe her but I don’t take holidays and we don’t have summer here in Stockport, so I’m crossing my fingers that it’s just a blip.

Don’t forget to check out the other 101ers; their blog links are to the right.  In particular, go and visit Sarsm; she has a hilarious story about a train journey.

15 Responses to “101/1001 (13)”

  1. mairedubhtx June 24, 2011 at 15:16 #

    I gave you the Blog Love award. Go here to check it out. http://mairedubhtx.wordpress.com/2011/06/24/blog-love/

    Like

  2. viewfromtheside June 24, 2011 at 15:26 #

    apologies, my visits have dropped off somewhat. i’m so overloaded I don’t get much time online and when i do my brain has fogged up

    Like

    • Tilly Bud June 25, 2011 at 20:52 #

      Oh, I’m sorry! I wasn’t complaining (much); more thinking aloud. I’m always grateful for visits. Come when you can 🙂

      Hope the fog clears.

      Like

  3. vivinfrance June 24, 2011 at 17:22 #

    Dogged do-er of dares, that’s you. I’d have given up yonks ago.

    Like

    • Tilly Bud June 25, 2011 at 20:52 #

      No, I’m not one for dares; but I am putting my poems where my mouth is 🙂

      Like

  4. Pseu June 24, 2011 at 23:05 #

    how strange, we watched True Grit last weekend!

    Like

    • Tilly Bud June 25, 2011 at 20:55 #

      A coincidence! I love it.

      Though it’s not a massive one, if we’re honest: it’s just come out on dvd and millions of people will be watching it because it was a hit.

      Now if you told me you had recently watched ‘Wild Target’ and/or ‘Killers’…

      Like

  5. sarsm June 25, 2011 at 08:09 #

    My husband told I should watch True Grit. I’ll watch as one of my 101 films.

    My blog visits have slowed right down too the last couple of weeks, I wondered if it was to do with the holidays…

    Thanks for the mention!!

    (I was organising yet another birthday party yesterday and didn’t have enough energy left for an update, but I’ll try and do one today).

    Like

    • Tilly Bud June 25, 2011 at 20:57 #

      You should; it’s really good.

      Glad it’s not just me with falling stats. Well, not really: just because mine have doesn’t mean I want everybody else’s to. You know what I mean.

      Don’t let it slip away from you; even if you just do a paragraph.

      Like

  6. Dave McGowan June 26, 2011 at 01:43 #

    There are several great things to be learned in Louis L’Amour stories … often more than one per story.
    Like westerns? Try reading mine and you can also learn a little about Canada’s history.
    No, they’re novels, but I try to include at least one historical incident.
    And best of luck on your quest.
    Dave
    http://www.dmmcgowan.blogspot.com
    Oh, and there’s one of my short stories (serialized) on my blog for free reading.

    Like

  7. eof737 June 27, 2011 at 11:13 #

    Keep up the great job… You’ll get there sooner than you think…. Things slow down in the summer; people go away, life is leisurely and it affects the blogging world too. It is not a new idea or thing, but it’s pretty consistent every year.

    Like

    • Tilly Bud June 27, 2011 at 11:21 #

      After I read your post on blogging stats, I looked back at my own and saw the trend, so I have stopped panicking. Thank you 🙂

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 101/1001 (21) Another Late Update « The Laughing Housewife - August 21, 2011

    […] 101/1001 (13) (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.