Joke 142

13 Aug

A judge was instructing the jury that a witness was not necessarily to be regarded as untruthful because he changed his statement from one which he had previously made to the police.  “For example,” he said, “when I entered my chambers today, I was sure I had my gold watch in my pocket.  But then I remembered that I left it on my nightstand in my bedroom.”

When the judge returned home, his wife asked him, “Why so much urgency for your watch?  Isn’t sending three men to get it, one after the other, a bit extreme?”

“What?” said the judge, “I didn’t send anyone for my watch, let alone three people; what did you do?”

“I gave it to the first one,” said his wife.  “He knew exactly where it was.”

5 Responses to “Joke 142”

  1. misswhiplash August 13, 2011 at 09:48 #

    Love it, love it ! and the pic of the alleged bad dog… your really are worth your weight in gold for the humour and pleasure that you give to others

    Like

  2. totsymae1011 August 13, 2011 at 13:43 #

    I’ll just tell in advance that I taught special ed. students and not that it’s any reflection on them but I didn’t get this one. Read it twice and still…

    Like

    • Tilly Bud August 14, 2011 at 13:18 #

      They say a joke isn’t funny if you have to explain it, but here goes:

      The judge told the court where his gold watch could be found; three unscrupulous men in the court room heard this and decided to go to his home and say the judge needed it. The wife gave it to the first man.

      See, I was right: a joke isn’t funny when you explain it 🙂

      Like

  3. bluebee August 14, 2011 at 02:33 #

    Love the cartoon – a litigious world gone mad 🙂

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.