Archive | 18:09

I Can’t Laugh At This One

2 May

What will change, for you, for the U.S., for the world, now that Osama is gone?

I think today there is a little less evil in the world; but evil will be done in his name.

People have a right to rejoice; but the world, if it’s possible, is now an even scarier place.

Let’s Get Serious

2 May
Laugh

Image via Wikipedia

What do you want to accomplish with your blog? What is it for?

To make you laugh.  S/he who laughs last, lasts.  People who laugh live longer.  Unless they get hit by buses while doing it.

Laughter isn’t the best medicine (if it was, I could stop donating to Cancer Research), but it’s the best coping mechanism.

When I started my blog – to stop Tory Boy’s nagging – I was simply looking for an outlet for my writing.  I had no focus.  I wrote about my life and tried to make it funny, bunging in the occasional poem or cartoon.  Then I discovered that the funnier I was, the more comments – and visitors – I received.  Because people like to laugh.  I elbowed the poems, changed my tag line, and learned to do with less sleep as I sweated over finding the funny in everything.

To celebrate being thirty three percent done with Post a Day/Post a Week, share your top three favorite posts that you’ve published since starting the challenge.

I posted 78 times in April alone; I have no chance of recalling a favourite.

Instead, I’ll tell you my favourite things about blogging:

  • meeting all you wonderful readers and your delightful blogs
  • learning the art of sucking up
  • finding interesting titles – not always, as today’s title shows
  • sharing searches that find me
  • reading comments – you always surprise me
  • feeling like Sally Field at the Oscars – you like me; you really like me!

 

Looks like Orson Scott Card had it wrong, by the way: the dirtiest word isn’t Third.*

*A preview of a future prompt.

And one final thing I love about blogging:

  • having a place to disgorge random thoughts and knowing that you can’t understand all of the Tilly, all of the time, but you don’t seem to mind

Joke 39

2 May

This one’s a groaner.  Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

TEACHER: What is the chemical formula for water?

STUDENT: HIJKLMNO

TEACHER: What are you talking about?

STUDENT: Yesterday you said it was H to O.

I had to laugh: one of the recommended tags for this post was Donald Trump.