The Beginning Of The Enderverse

10 May

Regular readers of this blog know, having been told over and over (and assuming that they were paying attention), that Ender’s Game by Scorson Ott card…let me re-type that, I’m so excited!…by Orson Scott Card, is my Desert Island Book. Assuming, that is, that they give you a book on top of the Bible and The Complete Works of Shakespeare.  If not, I might have to take it as my luxury item instead of the giant vat of Vaseline I had set my heart upon.

Vaseline is fabulous:

  • Lubricant: to grease rusted screws from washed-up airplane parts that I can turn into three-storey homes and life rafts
  • Skin softener: to protect me from the harsh elements
  • Lip salve: Vaseline’s most vital function in my own universe: have you ever tried smiling at strangers when your lips are cracked?  Don’t.  It frightens them
  • Frying grease: I’ll need all my fat stores, obviously, because I can’t hunt or grow vegetables.  My best hope will be to eat suicidal sharks.  I’ve eaten shark.  It tastes fishy.  But I don’t do sushi, hence the Vaseline.  Fat stores are the reason I don’t diet – in case of desert island castawaying.  I find a good precaution is never wasted
  • Sore sealant: it’s what they put on boxers’ cuts to stop the blood obscuring their vision as they pound each other to pulp.  Which brings me back to Ender’s Game:

My beloved eldest son (this month’s favourite child as a result of what I’m about to tell you) sent me a link yesterday: the film of the book is FINALLY made!

The book was written in 1985 and is beloved around the world, but various attempts to film it were defeated because the Battle Room was just too difficult to turn into hard copy.

Thankfully, CGI is now so sophisticated, the dream has become reality. Imaginary reality, of course, but you get my drift.  Remember – the enemy’s gate is down!

I’m sure it won’t be the only book in the series to be filmed, but I do hope they go the Bean route rather than the Ender route.

You don’t know what I’m talking about, but I don’t care: I’m happy in my own little world.  Unlike poor Ender, a lonely child soldier.

Dystopian futures – I love ’em.  Ho!

 

 

33 Responses to “The Beginning Of The Enderverse”

  1. McGuffy Ann May 10, 2013 at 15:31 #

    You never cease to amaze me. I love that about you! Happy Mother’s Day!

    Like

    • The Laughing Housewife May 10, 2013 at 15:42 #

      Thank you 🙂

      We had ours in March but perhaps I should remind my kids that I need some more Maltesers…

      Like

      • Spud May 10, 2013 at 15:48 #

        You don’t need to remind us Mother. Your addiction is quite obvious.

        Like

      • McGuffy Ann May 10, 2013 at 16:06 #

        Simon’s Cat played so I hope you try again!
        I need to check out your Maltesers…I think they must be malted milk balls, like our “Whoppers”, which I like! Happy Mother’s Day!

        Like

  2. Terry May 10, 2013 at 15:42 #

    Have a great Mother’s Day

    Like

  3. SchmidleysScribbling May 10, 2013 at 15:59 #

    Oh Oh Spud has his own account I see. As for vaseline, it is a petroleum product and sure to be banned by those trying to stop oil drilling.

    I don’t think I’d fry fish in it. Instead of a fishy smell you would get a burning oil field scent. Dianne

    Like

  4. Elaine - I used to be indecisive May 10, 2013 at 16:07 #

    How exciting! I haven’t read the book – maybe I should add it to my list.
    I always used to get excited when a book I enjoyed is made into a film, but now I worry that it might not live up to my enjoyment of the book, or it might not be exactly the same as the book. That’s happened to a few films that have been made from books I’ve read.

    Like

  5. mairedubhtx May 10, 2013 at 16:09 #

    I don’t know End’s Game. Perhaps I’ll check it out, since it comes so highly recommended it. I’m glad you are so psyched.

    Like

  6. mairedubhtx May 10, 2013 at 16:10 #

    Sorry. Ender’s Game.

    Like

  7. slpmartin May 10, 2013 at 16:17 #

    Sounds like your Mother’s Day is off to a good start. 🙂

    Like

  8. jatwood4 May 10, 2013 at 16:27 #

    Ho, Tillie. I’m with you — Ender’s Game is a real favorite! The trailer looks great, though I’ll have to see the film to believe that they got the Battle Room right. Thanks for the trailer.

    Like

  9. Rorybore May 10, 2013 at 17:44 #

    I’d never heard of this, but that trailer WOW. I am stoked. hubby was peering over my shoulder and I swear he started breathing heavy. Harrison Ford? Ben Kingsley? oh lawd….count us in on seeing this one.

    Like

  10. Katharine Trauger May 10, 2013 at 18:44 #

    Ha. I find imaginary reality absolutely as scary as cracked, bleeding smiles. But I am happy for YOU. 😉

    Like

  11. Sonia Anoop May 10, 2013 at 19:07 #

    The cracked smiles thing, tried it once, and the then friendly neighbour , scoots the moment I see him now. Your post brought back that memories. Loved it today and as always am laughing away. Happy Mothers day.and pls keep us laughing

    Like

  12. Katherine Gordy Levine May 10, 2013 at 20:50 #

    This gave me my laugh of the month. The grandmothers who follow you get a hoot or so I hope. http://pinterest.com/pin/147141112798161193/

    Like

  13. Viveka May 10, 2013 at 20:56 #

    Vaseline is fabulous!!!! So true.

    Like

  14. laurieanichols May 10, 2013 at 21:22 #

    Your boys are gems, Spud gave me quite the laugh lol. Harrison Ford, Ben Kingsley in a movie with a dystopian future, sign me up.:)

    Like

  15. benzeknees May 11, 2013 at 07:52 #

    I know not of what you speak, but you sound excited!

    Like

  16. viv blake May 11, 2013 at 07:57 #

    I’m with you on Vaseline, but I haven’t a clue what the rest is about, I’ll have to wait for the film.

    Like

  17. sheilamariegrimes May 11, 2013 at 17:47 #

    Clueless here! always fun reading your stuff!

    Like

  18. colonialist May 11, 2013 at 19:28 #

    I drew a Card once but didn’t enjoy playing it. Perhaps I should draw another?
    (Just thoroughly enjoyed a Silverberg.)

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

