Christmas Is Coming

24 Aug

The X-Factor is back.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m a late convert, and I love it; but it’s a kind of modern advent calendar, because we know it will end just before Christmas – just enough before Christmas to allow the winner to have the Christmas Number One.

Simon Cowell: Scrooge with teeth.

21 Responses to “Christmas Is Coming”

  1. Debbie August 24, 2011 at 15:07 #

    Love Christmas, hate the X Factor. Used to watch it, but can’t stand all the hype and the screaming audience.

    Bah humbug.

    Like

  2. Cindy August 24, 2011 at 15:11 #

    Is it similar to Idols?

    Like

    • Tilly Bud August 25, 2011 at 12:13 #

      Yes. SC was a judge on Pop Idol then adapted the idea for his own show.

      Like

  3. Miss Rambler August 24, 2011 at 15:14 #

    YES YES YES YES YES OH MY WORD YES!!!! that’s got to be the funniest thing I’ve heard all day. thanks!!

    Like

  4. Kathy August 24, 2011 at 15:15 #

    It’s coming to North America this Fall. Love Simon, can’t wait to check it out. If it’s anything like America’s Got Talent, though, I won’t watch for long. Can’t stand that drivel. I’ll wait for people to post YouTube vid’s of the favorites!

    Like

  5. Audrey August 24, 2011 at 15:19 #

    While I think Simon is a good looking guy, I also find his ego to be larger than I care to deal with. I’m sure he was paid big bucks to not be nice, but he just always left so many people in tears and I don’t find that funny 😦

    Like

  6. mairedubhtx August 24, 2011 at 15:26 #

    The X-Factor begins here in the states in mid-September.

    Like

  7. gigihawaii August 24, 2011 at 16:34 #

    I can’t stand Simon Cowell and won’t be watching the X Factor.

    Like

    • vivinfrance August 24, 2011 at 17:04 #

      Simon Cowell’s no longer in it. Louis Walsh is in charge and the other male judge is is the gorgeous Gary Barlow. I like the audition stages, being a bit of a sadist! But I loathe all the screaming. The delicious Strictly Come Dancing starts next week (how the year has flown), and then X Factor doesn’t get a look in here.

      Like

      • Tilly Bud August 25, 2011 at 12:17 #

        He owns it, though; and will cash in nicely.

        I’ve never tried Strictly; perhaps I will this time.

        Like

  8. sufilight August 24, 2011 at 18:26 #

    I don’t care for Simon Cowell but will take a peek at the X-Factor when it reaches the USA.

    Like

  9. slpmartin August 24, 2011 at 18:44 #

    Okay the line “Scrooge with teeth” made me laugh so hard…just a perfect characterization.

    Like

  10. nrhatch August 24, 2011 at 20:03 #

    😀

    Like

  11. belleofthecarnival August 24, 2011 at 22:40 #

    Chuckles! Now that you mention it he does look like Scrooge with Teeth :O

    Like

  12. kateshrewsday August 24, 2011 at 22:50 #

    Scrooge with teeth..you know that’s the beginning of a hitherto unwritten novel, don’t you? How I long to read on….

    Like

  13. ElizOF August 28, 2011 at 08:52 #

    I don’t watch the show but I’m happy for you… Maybe I’ll catch an episode someday. I’ve heard it’s pretty good. 🙂

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.