Joke 530

4 Sep
Weddings 2011

Weddings 2011 (Photo credit: The Style PA)

Another one from sarasotaweddingjokes.

A minister was called to a local nursing home to perform a wedding. An anxious old man met him at the door.  The pastor sat down to counsel the old man and ask several questions. 

“Do you love her?” 

The old man replied, “I guess.” 

“Is she a good woman?” 

“I don’t know for sure,” the old man answered. 

“Does she have lots of money?” asked the pastor, grasping now. 

“I doubt it.” 

“Then why are you marrying her?” the baffled preacher asked. 

“She can drive at night,” the old man said.

*

“Women with pasts interest men…they hope history will repeat itself.”
Mae West.

*

”My boyfriend and I broke up. He wanted to get married and I didn’t want him to.”
Rita Rudner.

*

20 Responses to “Joke 530”

  1. slpmartin September 4, 2012 at 05:08 #

    Oh…I just found the first story so cute…I know folks that old. 🙂

    Like

  2. terry1954 September 4, 2012 at 05:08 #

    sounds like something that would come out of my mouth, hehe

    Like

  3. jmgoyder September 4, 2012 at 05:32 #

    Hilarious!

    Like

  4. sonofwalt September 4, 2012 at 08:50 #

    Tee hee. . . So when you commented on my last post, how the heckish did you know I had just opened your latest blog to read it? Spooky timing, dear. Downright spooky.

    Like

  5. sharechair September 4, 2012 at 10:44 #

    hey! If you are a ‘driver’ in a senior community, you are “the bomb”! 🙂

    Like

  6. Viveka September 4, 2012 at 11:11 #

    Good one – was going to post this too … you beat me to it. Great joke.

    Like

  7. judithatwood September 4, 2012 at 12:15 #

    Another good one — an probably happens a lot!

    Like

  8. Al September 4, 2012 at 13:08 #

    Reminded me about the best advice I ever got about marriage, i.e., “You can marry more money in five minutes than you can earn in a lifetime.” Shame I didn’t take it.

    Like

  9. misswhiplash September 4, 2012 at 15:15 #

    like me and ‘ole Nev..He went out with me cos he thought I had money. I went out with him cos I thought he had money. Both of us were wrong but by that time it was too late ..we were already married!

    Like

  10. Food Stories September 4, 2012 at 15:15 #

    Loved your joke & the comment you left on my blog … Honestly, now that you mention it, I don’t know why I don’t have a like button … I’ll check it out and see if I can remedy that for you 🙂

    Like

  11. Hattie September 5, 2012 at 09:05 #

    This is no joke, so to speak. My husband’s uncle panicked when his wife died and went around to all the women he knew, proposing to them, because he didn’t know how to cook and needed someone to fix his meals and could drive, since his eyesight was shot.. He even proposed to my husband’s mother, who would rather have flown to the moon than marry him! He eventually did find someone, luckily for all, I guess.

    Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cryptoquote Spoiler – 10/06/12 « Unclerave's Wordy Weblog - October 7, 2012

    […] Joke 530 (thelaughinghousewife.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.