I Don’t Get Out Much

19 Sep

 

Pardon me for still harping on the subject of Pseu’s visit, but this post is especially for Dianne at Schmidley’s Scribbling, who commented:

*

[T]he food platters look nice, but what are those round brown things on the end of the plate? They look like miniature Yorkshire puddings or something else. Suspicious given the topics of your last few blogs.

*

*

Dianne – they are pork pies: thick, inedible pastry filled with gross cuts of pork (maybe) and a disgusting jelly.  They are a popular British snack, particularly at parties.

The Hub and I went sandwich ingredient shopping the day before Pseu came. The Hub spotted some scotch eggs.

*

Scotch eggs

Scotch eggs (Photo credit: mynameisrichard)

.

HUB:  Let’s get some scotch eggs.

TLH:  Scotch eggs!  I’m not buying scotch eggs!  She’ll think we’re good northern stock.

HUB: We are good northern stock.

TLH:  Yes, but we don’t have to boast about it.  Anyway, when have we ever eaten scotch eggs?

HUB:  I love scotch eggs!

TLH:  You never eat them!

HUB:  You never buy them.  There’s a difference.

TLH:  I’m not buying them now, either.

*

We settled for pork pies – a more refined northern delicacy.

Pseu ate one.

I didn’t; I don’t like them.  I may be of good northern stock , but I have taste.

 

32 Responses to “I Don’t Get Out Much”

  1. faydanamyjake September 19, 2012 at 10:01 #

    I like a slice of large pork pie on boxing day with my cold meats 🙂

    Like

  2. vivinfrance September 19, 2012 at 10:24 #

    I love Scotch Eggs, am not a Northerner, and you don’t have to buy them as they’re very easy to make.

    Like

  3. sharechair September 19, 2012 at 11:23 #

    I’ve never heard of a Scotch egg. Looking at the picture, is it wrapped in bread?

    Like

  4. Elaine - I used to be indecisive September 19, 2012 at 11:48 #

    I’m not a fan of pork pies, or Scotch eggs (despite being Scottish!). A Scotch egg is a hard boiled egg wrapped in pork sausage meat then the whole thing is covered in breadcrumbs. I’m not sure how it’s cooked though, baked maybe?

    Like

  5. kiwidutch September 19, 2012 at 12:16 #

    Thank you Dianne for asking the question I wanted to ask but didn’t… (work’s been a bit messy recently so I’ve been preoccupied)
    For some reason I thought that a pork pie would have been a lot bigger (not that I’ve ever seen one) so I learned something too. I also learned what a scotch egg was… weird, interesting, something to investigate and maybe sample if I’m ever in the region where these are available.
    Gross Tilly… friends of mine were ivited into a home and as the honoured guests were offered cooked sheeps eyes (local delicacy it seems) on their world travels so there are BIG degrees of gross… a Scotch egg and a pork pie appear to be way less risky than a sheeps eye LOL!

    Like

  6. Bridgesburning Chris King September 19, 2012 at 12:56 #

    I love scotch gags and used to make them though it has been years. I also love your site first thing in the morning – your smiling face makes me grin!

    Like

  7. boomiebol September 19, 2012 at 13:09 #

    I love scotch eggs

    Like

  8. mairedubhtx September 19, 2012 at 13:11 #

    I’ve never heard of either of them. Then again, I’m not of northern stock. I’m just a Yank.

    Like

  9. SchmidleysScribbling September 19, 2012 at 13:28 #

    I thought pork pies were hats. Good northern stock from South Africa? Oh that’s right you are descended from those Celtic immigrants.

    Like

  10. judithatwood September 19, 2012 at 13:40 #

    😎

    Like

    • misswhiplashmisswhiplash September 19, 2012 at 13:55 #

      well…I is from de souf…and I loves pork pies and scotch eggs..bof is yummy ands only the bess people eats ’em

      Like

  11. katharinetrauger September 19, 2012 at 14:39 #

    Ah, Tilly, we are the opposite. My kids used to say, “Hooray, we’re having company! We get to eat!” 😉

    Like

  12. laurieanichols September 19, 2012 at 15:14 #

    The baby girl a few months asked me to make scotch eggs and when I forgot to make them she just let it go, bizarre. When I was in London twenty five years ago, my boyfriend’s mother made us a delicious meat pie, it didn’t look like the little pork pie because her pastry crust was the flaky kind, it was wonderful. I thought that the little brown things were muffins myself, what do I know. You had fun and the sandwiches looked really good, perfect with tea.

    Like

  13. terry1954 September 19, 2012 at 15:14 #

    i have never heard of scotch eggs or pork pies……………good blog though!

    Like

  14. ruthrawls September 19, 2012 at 15:50 #

    I missed the porkie things. I was so overcome by the sandwiches and the “Love you” that I could not see anything else hiding in plain sight.

    Like

  15. gigihawaii September 19, 2012 at 16:26 #

    Never tasted either. Probably never will, being stuck in Hawaii…
    Cute post, Tilly!

    Like

  16. adinparadise September 19, 2012 at 16:29 #

    I think I like pork pies even more than Maltesers. 🙂

    Like

  17. Pseu September 19, 2012 at 18:05 #

    at least it wasn’t pork scratchings. 🙂

    Like

    • Pseu September 19, 2012 at 18:06 #

      or deep fried mars bars.

      Like

  18. viveka September 19, 2012 at 18:52 #

    LInda, I join your club here … don’t like neither of them – terrible and the poor body that has to break it down … still a good sandwich spread – would do me fine.

    Like

  19. robincoyle September 20, 2012 at 02:45 #

    i’d like to try both! We Yanks don’t get out much either.

    Like

  20. benzeknees September 20, 2012 at 07:05 #

    I didn’t recognize the pork pies either, but what I did notice was you left the crusts on the sandwiches, tsk, tsk!

    Like

  21. grannymar September 20, 2012 at 09:48 #

    I don’t remember ever eating a scotch egg, but have had the occasional Melton Mowbray pork pie, but they are named after a town in Leicestershire.

    Like

  22. The Hub September 20, 2012 at 13:05 #

    Viv, Linda make Scotch eggs….hahahahaha. You know what I say, if I don’t smell burning we are having salad.
    Now if you really want to talk about nice things to eat…BILTONG, yum yum. South African delicacy, raw beef slightly spiced and hung to dry.

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.