Joke 548

22 Sep

 

From Will & Guy.

NWalesJul09_038

NWalesJul09_038 (Photo credit: Richard Sz)

An American farmer was on holiday in Wales.  He could not resist exploring the hill farms north of Aberystwyth.  At lunch time he dropped into a pub and fell into easy conversation with a Welsh farmer.

“How big is your spread?” asked the American.  

“Well look you, it’s about twenty acres,” the Welshman said.

“Only twenty acres?” the American responded.  “Back in Texas I can get up at sunrise, saddle my horse and ride all day; when I return at supper time, I’ll be lucky to cover half my farm.”

“Sure, sure,” said the Welshman.  “I once had a horse like that, but I sent him to the knackers’ yard.”

 

6 Responses to “Joke 548”

  1. adinparadise September 22, 2012 at 06:11 #

    Good one, Tilly. 😀

    Like

    • misswhiplash September 22, 2012 at 08:44 #

      not too sure on that one..maybe my sense of humour has withered like me!

      Like

  2. grannymar September 22, 2012 at 09:02 #

    Heard an Irish variation of that one many years ago, but cannot remember the punch line. 😦

    Like

  3. viveka September 22, 2012 at 11:48 #

    Fantastic …. !!! Love it. You have a great weekend now.

    Like

  4. lanceleuven September 22, 2012 at 17:11 #

    Excellent! 🙂

    Like

  5. Three Well Beings September 23, 2012 at 05:03 #

    I so enjoy the periodic jokes I don’t understand. I didn’t get this one…and I think it’s a simple translation problem. I don’tknow the word “knackers.” I’ll look it up later! Ha! We speak a different English sometimes, don’t we? I find that kind of fun! Debra

    Like

I welcome your comments but be warned: I'm menopausal and as likely to snarl as smile. Wine or Maltesers are an acceptable bribe; or a compliment about my youthful looks and cheery disposition will do in a pinch.

